Milton Keynes Dons 1 – Sunderland AFC 2: Visitors at Stadium Mk secure victory

Photo Credit: AP

Sunderland AFC’s 2-1 win over Milton Keynes Dons on Saturday, was hard fought at Stadium Mk. Both teams arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Milton Keynes Dons were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning last match. Sunderland AFC were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Wycombe Wanderers and AFC Wimbledon. As it stands, Milton Keynes Dons are in 11th place, with 8 points from 2 matches, while Sunderland AFC sit in 1st, with 12 points from 2.

Sunderland AFC started strongly in the first half, with a goal from Ross Stewart just before half-time, finishing the first half 0-1.

Sunderland AFC started the second half with renewed vigour, thanks to Elliot Embleton finding the net at the 52 minute mark. In the end though, Milton Keynes Dons, 56 minutes in pull-back via a Troy Parrott goal, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Both managers used all available substitutions. For Milton Keynes Dons, Josh McEachran, Hiram Boateng and Josh Martin, came on for Mo Eisa, Scott Twine and Tennai Watson, Sunderland AFC replaced Alex Pritchard, Aiden O’Brien and Bailey Wright with Corry Evans, Aiden McGeady and Dennis Cirkin.

There were bookings for Daniel Harvie and Zak Jules from Milton Keynes Dons, and Ross Stewart, Lynden Gooch, Tom Flanagan and Elliot Embleton, for Sunderland AFC.

Sunderland AFC and Milton Keynes Dons will next play away to Sheffield Wednesday and Cheltenham Town respectively.

Technical card:
Milton Keynes Dons: Daniel Harvie, Zak Jules, Troy Parrott, Mo Eisa (Josh McEachran, min.75), Scott Twine (Hiram Boateng, min.86) and Tennai Watson (Josh Martin, min.87)
Sunderland AFC: Ross Stewart, Elliot Embleton, Corry Evans (Alex Pritchard, min.62), Aiden McGeady (Aiden O’Brien, min.72), Dennis Cirkin (Bailey Wright, min.73), Lynden Gooch and Tom Flanagan
Stadium: Stadium Mk
Goals: Ross Stewart (0-1, min. 42), Elliot Embleton (0-2, min. 52) and Troy Parrott (1-2, min. 56)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*