Ipswich Town 2 – Shrewsbury Town 1: Visitors unable to get win at Portman Road Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Ipswich Town beat Shrewsbury Town with a thumping 2-1 victory on Saturday at Portman Road Stadium. Both sides came from defeats in their previous league games. Ipswich Town were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last game 2-1 to Accrington Stanley. Shrewsbury Town lost 2-1 in the last match they played against Bolton Wanderers. Following today’s result, Ipswich Town are in 14th place on the table and has 13 points while Shrewsbury Town sit in 23rd with 8 points after 12 matches.

Ipswich Town started the first half well, thanks to Conor Chaplin giving Ipswich Town the lead at the 23 minute mark. However, their lead was short lived, as Shaun Whalley equalised for Shrewsbury Town, 28 minutes in, to take a 1-1 lead into half time.

Ipswich Town staged a comeback in the second half, with Macauley Bonne giving Ipswich Town the lead at the 54 minute mark and seeing the game end 2-1.

Both coaches used the full entitlement. For Ipswich Town, Kyle Edwards, Toto Nsiala and Joe Pigott, came on for Wes Burns, Matthew Penney and Macauley Bonne, Shrewsbury Town brought on Sam Cosgrove, Tom Bloxham and Nathanael Ogbeta to replace Ryan Bowman, Daniel Udoh and Aaron Pierre.

There were bookings for Cameron Burgess, Scott Fraser and George Edmundson from Ipswich Town, and Aaron Pierre, for Shrewsbury Town.

Ipswich Town will next travel to Cambridge Utd, while Shrewsbury Town will face Milton Keynes Dons at home.

Technical card:
Ipswich Town: Conor Chaplin, Cameron Burgess, Macauley Bonne (Joe Pigott, min.88), Wes Burns (Kyle Edwards, min.73), Matthew Penney (Toto Nsiala, min.81), Scott Fraser and George Edmundson
Shrewsbury Town: Shaun Whalley, Ryan Bowman (Sam Cosgrove, min.35), Aaron Pierre (Nathanael Ogbeta, min.74) and Daniel Udoh (Tom Bloxham, min.74)
Stadium: Portman Road Stadium
Goals: Conor Chaplin (1-0, min. 23), Shaun Whalley (1-1, min. 28) and Macauley Bonne (2-1, min. 54)