Ipswich Town 6 – Doncaster Rovers 0: Bad day for visitors at Portman Road Stadium

Ipswich Town 6-0 Doncaster Rovers

Photo Credit: AP

Ipswich Town cruises against Doncaster Rovers on a home win at Portman Road Stadium on Tuesday. Ipswich Town wanted to continue adding points following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Sheffield Wednesday in their previous game. Doncaster Rovers lost 2-1 in the last match they played against Plymouth Argyle. As the table looks today, Ipswich Town are currently 19th with 10 points from 10 matches, while Doncaster Rovers sit in 24th, with 4 points from 10.

Ipswich Town started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with Macauley Bonne opening the rout in the 13th minute. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Lee Evans, 32 minutes in to see out the first half 2-0.

Ipswich Town continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Lee Evans finding the net again at the 71 minute mark. The momentum was now with Ipswich Town, who then scored again through a 2nd effort from Macauley Bonne, 73 minutes in to establish a 4-0. Ipswich Town looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a hat trick effort from Lee Evans in the 76th minute to establish a 5-0. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from George Edmundson, 80 minutes in to make it 6-0.

Both managers used the full entitlement. For Ipswich Town, Sone Aluko, Conor Chaplin and Rakeem Harper, came on for Wes Burns, Bersant Celina and Lee Evans, Doncaster Rovers brought on Rodrigo Vilca, Joseph Olowu and Aidan Barlow for Dan Gardner, Jordy Hiwula-Mayifuila and Tiago Cukur.

There were bookings for Cameron Burgess from Ipswich Town, and Joe Dodoo and Matthew Smith, for Doncaster Rovers.

Ipswich Town will next play Accrington Stanley away, with Doncaster Rovers facing Milton Keynes Dons at home.

Technical card:
Ipswich Town: Cameron Burgess, Macauley Bonne, Lee Evans (Rakeem Harper, min.82), Wes Burns (Sone Aluko, min.77), Bersant Celina (Conor Chaplin, min.77) and George Edmundson
Doncaster Rovers: Joe Dodoo, Dan Gardner (Rodrigo Vilca, min.46), Jordy Hiwula-Mayifuila (Joseph Olowu, min.46), Matthew Smith and Tiago Cukur (Aidan Barlow, min.78)
Stadium: Portman Road Stadium
Goals: Macauley Bonne (1-0, min. 13), Lee Evans (2-0, min. 32), Lee Evans (3-0, min. 71), Macauley Bonne (4-0, min. 73), Lee Evans (5-0, min. 76) and George Edmundson (6-0, min. 80)