Gillingham FC 2-2 Northampton Town: Its all even at Mems Priestfield Stadium, after Gillingham FC draw 2-2 with Northampton Town

Gillingham FC can only tease out a 2-2 draw in their fixture against Northampton Town
Lindzy Batt

Lindzy Batt

If there is anyone with the perfect insight and observation skills, that’s Lindzy! Her eagle eye never misses anything. That goal the referees needed to use VAR to determine it really was a goal?

On Saturday, Gillingham FC and Northampton Town were held to a 2-2 draw at Mems Priestfield Stadium. Both Gillingham FC and Northampton Town arrived on the back of wins. Gillingham FC were looking to pick up points after winning last match. Northampton Town were able to continue their winning streak after a 3-0 win against Ipswich Town in their last match. As it stands, Gillingham FC are in 10th place, with 63 points from 44 matches, while Northampton Town sit in 21st, with 44 points from 44.

Gillingham FC started the game well, with a goal from Vadaine Oliver at the 11 minute mark and seeing the first half out 1-0.

Gillingham FC took the initiative in the second half, thanks to Olly Lee finding the net, on 68 minutes. However, Northampton Town weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Ryan Edmondson in the 79th minute. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Fraser Horsfall at the 83 minute mark to make it 2-2.

For Gillingham FC, Jordan Graham, Gerald Sithole and Robbie McKenzie, came on for Olly Lee, Dominic Samuel and Ryan Jackson. Northampton Town replaced Danny Rose, Mark Marshall, Ryan Edmondson and Caleb Chukwuemeka with Alex Jones, Mikel Miller, Shaun McWilliams and Ryan Watson.

There were bookings for Stuart O’Keefe, Robbie Cundy and Dominic Samuel from Gillingham FC, and Ryan Watson, Joseph Mills and Bryn Morris, for Northampton Town.

Gillingham FC will next play Burton Albion away, with Northampton Town facing Blackpool at home.

Technical card:
Gillingham FC: Vadaine Oliver, Stuart O’Keefe, Robbie Cundy, Olly Lee (Jordan Graham, min.88), Dominic Samuel (Gerald Sithole, min.88) and Ryan Jackson (Robbie McKenzie, min.90)
Northampton Town: Ryan Watson (Caleb Chukwuemeka, min.75), Joseph Mills, Alex Jones (Danny Rose, min.46), Bryn Morris, Mikel Miller (Mark Marshall, min.57), Shaun McWilliams (Ryan Edmondson, min.57) and Fraser Horsfall
Stadium: Mems Priestfield Stadium
Goals: Vadaine Oliver (1-0, min. 11), Olly Lee (2-0, min. 68), Ryan Edmondson (2-1, min. 79) and Fraser Horsfall (2-2, min. 83)

More From 888post