Doncaster Rovers 1-4 Peterborough United: Victory for Peterborough United, in a 4-1 trashing at Keepmoat Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Peterborough United beats Doncaster Rovers 4-1 on Sunday at Keepmoat Stadium. Doncaster Rovers were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run, following a 2-1 victory against Rochdale. Peterborough United, on the other hand, are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. This left, Doncaster Rovers and Peterborough United sit 14th (64 points) and 2nd (87 points) in the table respectively, after a total of 46 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Peterborough United, with Mo Eisa opening the rout after only 6 minutes. The momentum was now with Peterborough United, who then scored again through a goal from Niall Mason at the 8 minute mark to establish a 2-0. Peterborough United looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a goal from Idris Kanu, 16 minutes in to establish a 3-0. Peterborough United then scored once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Ricky Jade-Jones, 39 minutes in, which saw the first half end 0-4.

Doncaster Rovers took the lead in the second half, with a goal from Tyreece John-Jules just before the final whistle, leaving a rampant Peterborough United with a resounding 4-1.

For Doncaster Rovers, Brad Halliday, Ben Blythe, Josh Sims, Madger Gomes and Ed Williams, came on for Joe Wright, Andy Butler, Anthony Greaves, Omar Bogle and James Coppinger. Peterborough United brought on Frazer Blake-Tracy, Adler Nascimento, Charlie O’Connell, Kyle Barker and Will Blackmore, to replace Joe Ward, Frankie Kent, Ricky Jade-Jones, Louis Reed and Christy Pym.

Technical card:
Doncaster Rovers: Mo Eisa, Niall Mason, Idris Kanu, Ricky Jade-Jones, Joe Ward, Frankie Kent, Louis Reed and Christy Pym
Peterborough United: Joe Wright, Andy Butler, Anthony Greaves, Omar Bogle, James Coppinger and Tyreece John-Jules
Stadium: Keepmoat Stadium
Goals: Mo Eisa (0-1, min. 6), Niall Mason (0-2, min. 8), Idris Kanu (0-3, min. 16), Ricky Jade-Jones (0-4, min. 39) and Tyreece John-Jules (1-4, min. 90)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*