Cambridge 1 – Lincoln City 5- Home side humiliated by travelling Abbey Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Lincoln City strolled past Cambridge Utd with a 5-1 win on Saturday at Abbey Stadium. Cambridge had been hopeful of continuing their run after winning their previous two matches against Bolton Wanderers at home and Burton Albion at home, by 1-0 and 3-0 respectively. Lincoln City were beaten 3-1 in the previous match against Oxford United. At the moment, Cambridge and Lincoln City are 15th, (8 points) and 16th, (7 points), spots respectively, after 7 matches.

Lincoln City didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, with an early goal from Hakeeb Adelakun in the 1st minute. Lincoln City looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a goal from Conor McGrandles in the 16th minute to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Anthony Scully made it 3-0 at the 24 minute mark, finalising the first half 0-3.

Lincoln City continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Lewis Fiorini finding the net at the 57 minute mark. However, Cambridge weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Joe Ironside, 59 minutes in. In the end though, Lincoln City secured the points emphatically, with a second effort from Anthony Scully at the 72 minute mark, leaving a rampant Lincoln City with a resounding 5-1.

Cambridge brought on Jack Lankester, Jensen Weir and Harvey Knibbs for Shilow Tracey, Paul Digby and Wes Hoolahan. Lincoln City brought on Lewis Fiorini, Chris Maguire and Lasse Sorensen, to replace Teddy Bishop, Tom Hopper and Liam Bridcutt.

The referee booked George Williams, Paul Digby and Harvey Knibbs for Cambridge.

Cambridge will next travel to Portsmouth FC, while Lincoln City will face Ipswich Town at home.

Technical card:
Cambridge Utd: George Williams, Joe Ironside, Paul Digby (Jensen Weir, min.75), Shilow Tracey (Jack Lankester, min.75) and Wes Hoolahan (Harvey Knibbs, min.80)
Lincoln City: Hakeeb Adelakun, Conor McGrandles, Anthony Scully, Teddy Bishop (Lewis Fiorini, min.53), Tom Hopper (Chris Maguire, min.75) and Liam Bridcutt (Lasse Sorensen, min.85)
Stadium: Abbey Stadium
Goals: Hakeeb Adelakun (0-1, min. 1), Conor McGrandles (0-2, min. 16), Anthony Scully (0-3, min. 24), Lewis Fiorini (0-4, min. 57), Joe Ironside (1-4, min. 59) and Anthony Scully (1-5, min. 72)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*