Burton Albion 2 – Portsmouth FC 1- Visitors unable to get win at Pirelli Stadium

Burton Albion 2-1 Portsmouth FC

Photo Credit: AP

Burton Albion enjoyed a mesmerising home victory against Portsmouth FC at Pirelli Stadium on Tuesday. Burton Albion were hoping to get something from this game, following a previous defeat to Lincoln City whilst Portsmouth FC secured a point against Charlton Athletic in their previous match. After today’s result, Burton Albion are currently 10th with 15 points from 10 matches, while Portsmouth FC sit in 13th, with 12 points from 10.

It was an impressive opening from Burton Albion, with a goal from Thomas O`Connor, 32 minutes in. The score at half time was 1-0.

Burton Albion continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to Daniel Jebbison finding the net in the 60th minute. Portsmouth FC in turn, then responded in the 64th minute increasing their lead with an effort from Recco Hackett-Fairchild. The game ended with a 2-1 victory for Burton Albion.

Both coaches made full use of their substitutions. For Burton Albion, Ryan Leak, Kane Hemmings and Jacob Maddox, came on for Michael Bostwick, Daniel Jebbison and Charlie Lakin, Portsmouth FC brought on Recco Hackett-Fairchild, Louis Thompson and Ellis Harrison to replace Kieron Freeman, Ryan Tunnicliffe and John Marquis.

There were bookings for Jonny Smith, Charlie Lakin and Daniel Jebbison from Burton Albion, and Sean Raggett, Lee Brown, Recco Hackett-Fairchild and Marcus Harness, for Portsmouth FC.

Burton Albion will play away against AFC Wimbledon, while Portsmouth FC will face Sunderland AFC at home.

Technical card:
Burton Albion: Thomas O`Connor, Jonny Smith, Charlie Lakin (Jacob Maddox, min.76), Michael Bostwick (Ryan Leak, min.53) and Daniel Jebbison (Kane Hemmings, min.64)
Portsmouth FC: Kieron Freeman (Recco Hackett-Fairchild, min.61), Ryan Tunnicliffe (Louis Thompson, min.61), John Marquis (Ellis Harrison, min.61), Sean Raggett, Lee Brown and Marcus Harness
Stadium: Pirelli Stadium
Goals: Thomas O`Connor (1-0, min. 32), Daniel Jebbison (2-0, min. 60) and Recco Hackett-Fairchild (2-1, min. 64)