AFC Wimbledon 3 – Bolton Wanderers 3: Plenty of goals but no win at Plough Lane

Photo Credit: AP

AFC Wimbledon were held to 3-3 draw by Bolton Wanderers down on Saturday at Plough Lane. AFC Wimbledon wanted to improve their league standing after a 2-2 draw against Ipswich Town. Bolton Wanderers, on the other hand, lost 1-0 in the last match they played against Cambridge Utd. As things stand, AFC Wimbledon are in 15th place on the table and has 6 points while Bolton Wanderers sit in 13th with 8 points after 2 matches.

AFC Wimbledon dominated the first half, thanks to William Nightingale giving AFC Wimbledon the lead at the 20 minute mark. However, their lead didn’t last for long, Eoin Doyle producing an equaliser, at 23 minutes, bringing Bolton Wanderers level. However they weren’t finished yet and Joshua Sheehan made it 2-1 at the 27 minute mark, to take a 1-2 lead into half time.

Bolton Wanderers started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, with an early goal from Oladapo Afolayan in the 48th minute. However, AFC Wimbledon weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Aaron Pressley, 74 minutes in. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Dapo Mebude, 75 minutes in with a final score of 3-3.

Both coaches used the full entitlement. For AFC Wimbledon, Dapo Mebude, Aaron Pressley and Henry Lawrence, came on for Luke McCormick, Ollie Palmer and Nesta Guinness-Walker, Bolton Wanderers brought on George Johnston, Lloyd Isgrove and Elias Kachunga to replace Declan John, Amadou Bakayoko and Oladapo Afolayan.

There were bookings for Nikola Tzanev, Ben Heneghan, Nesta Guinness-Walker and Ayoub Assal from AFC Wimbledon, and Joshua Sheehan and Gethin Jones, for Bolton Wanderers.

AFC Wimbledon next face Oxford United and Bolton Wanderers are at home to Burton Albion.

Technical card:
AFC Wimbledon: William Nightingale, Nikola Tzanev, Ben Heneghan, Luke McCormick (Dapo Mebude, min.63), Ollie Palmer (Aaron Pressley, min.64), Nesta Guinness-Walker (Henry Lawrence, min.68) and Ayoub Assal
Bolton Wanderers: Eoin Doyle, Joshua Sheehan, Oladapo Afolayan (Elias Kachunga, min.79), Gethin Jones, Declan John (George Johnston, min.74) and Amadou Bakayoko (Lloyd Isgrove, min.79)
Stadium: Plough Lane
Goals: William Nightingale (1-0, min. 20), Eoin Doyle (1-1, min. 23), Joshua Sheehan (1-2, min. 27), Oladapo Afolayan (1-3, min. 48), Aaron Pressley (2-3, min. 74) and Dapo Mebude (3-3, min. 75)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*