Villarreal 2-4 Celta Vigo: The Sky Blues secure a narrow 4-2 win at Villarreal

Villarreal vs. Celta Vigo

Photo Credit: AP

Villarreal fell to a home defeat at the hands of Celta Vigo at the Estadio de la Ceramica on Sunday. Both sides arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Villarreal were looking to pick up points after winning last match whilst Celta were coming from consecutive wins against Levante and Osasuna. After today’s result, Villarreal and Celta currently occupy 6th and 8th spots in the table, with 52 points and 47 points respectively after 35 matches.

The Sky Blues started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with Santi Mina giving Celta the lead, on 19 minutes. However, they didn’t maintain the lead for long though, an equalizer from Moi Gomez at the 25 minute mark, brought The Yellow Submarine level. However, each side looked hungry to win and Celta then found the back of the net, 34 minutes in thanks to Santi Mina, taking the score to 2-1. Celta then netted again and increased their advantage thanks to a penalty goal from Brais Mendez just before half-time. The score at half time was 1-3.

The Sky Blues continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Augusto Solari, 57 minutes in. Villarreal in turn, then responded just before the final whistle increasing their lead with an effort from Gerard Moreno so at full time it was 4-2 to Celta.

For Villarreal, Alberto Moreno, Gerard Moreno, Francis Coquelin, Daniel Raba and Paco Alcacer, came on for Pervis Estupinan, Etienne Capoue, Moi Gomez, Dani Parejo and Fer Nino. Celta replaced Kevin Vazquez, Joseph Aidoo, Jordan William Holsgrove and Facundo Ferreyra with Augusto Solari, Hugo Mallo, Nolito and Santi Mina.

The referee booked from Villarreal Pervis Estupinan, Sergio Asenjo and Yeremi Pino and from Celta Nestor Araujo and Facundo Ferreyra. Both teams also had a sending off, with Geronimo Rulli and Mario Gaspar for Villarreal and Facundo Ferreyra (2 yellow cards) for Celta.

Villarreal will next travel to Real Valladolid, while Celta will face Getafe at home.

Technical card:
Villarreal: Sergio Asenjo, Ruben Pena, Ramiro Funes Mori, Raul Albiol, Pervis Estupinan (Alberto Moreno, min.46), Manu Trigueros, Etienne Capoue (Gerard Moreno, min.54), Dani Parejo (Daniel Raba, min.66), Yeremi Pino, Fer Nino (Paco Alcacer, min.66), Moi Gomez (Francis Coquelin, min.54), Geronimo Rulli and Mario Gaspar
Celta Vigo: Ivan Villar, Hugo Mallo (Joseph Aidoo, min.69), Nestor Araujo, Carlos Dominguez, Aaron Martin, Augusto Solari (Kevin Vazquez, min.68), Denis Suarez, Fran Beltran, Nolito (Jordan William Holsgrove, min.78), Brais Mendez and Santi Mina (Facundo Ferreyra, min.78)
Stadium: the Estadio de la Ceramica
Goals: Santi Mina (0-1, min. 19), Moi Gomez (1-1, min. 25), Santi Mina (1-2, min. 34), Brais Mendez (1-3, min. 45), Augusto Solari (1-4, min. 57) and Gerard Moreno (2-4, min. 87)


*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*