Valencia 1 – Athletic Bilbao 1- The Bats frustrated at home as visitors draw

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, Valencia and Athletic Bilbao were held to a 1-1 draw at the Mestalla. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Valencia arrived at the game looking pick up points after losing their last game 3-1 to Seville. Athletic Bilbao lost 2-1 in the last match they played against Rayo Vallecano. As things stand, Valencia are in 5th place on the table and has 11 points while Athletic Bilbao sit in 7th with 10 points after 7 matches.

Following a goalless first half, The Lions fought back the second half, thanks to Inigo Martinez giving Athletic Bilbao the lead in the 69th minute. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Marcos De Sousa equalised for Valencia just before the final whistle. The game ended wih a 1-1 draw.

For Valencia, Jesus Vazquez, Marcos De Sousa, Jason and Manu Vallejo, came on for Lato Toni, Hugo Duro, Yunus Musah and Daniel Wass. Athletic Bilbao replaced Mikel Balenziaga, Iker Muniain, Raul Garcia and Unai Vencedor for Oscar De Marcos, Nicholas Williams, Nicolas Serrano and Mikel Vesga.

The referee booked seven players. Maxi Gomez, Hugo Guillamon, Jason and Manu Vallejo from Valencia, who saw yellow cards and Maxi Gomez (2 yellow cards), sent off with a red, as well as for Athletic Bilbao Dani Garcia and Alex Berenguer also seeing yellows.

Valencia will next play Cádiz away, with Athletic Bilbao facing Alaves at home.

Technical card:
Valencia: Jasper Cillessen, Dimitri Foulquier, Gabriel Paulista, Omar Alderete, Lato Toni (Jesus Vazquez, min.71), Yunus Musah (Jason, min.83), Hugo Guillamon, Daniel Wass (Manu Vallejo, min.84), Hugo Duro (Marcos De Sousa, min.72), Goncalo Guedes and Maxi Gomez
Athletic Bilbao: Unai Simon, Inigo Lekue, Dani Vivian, Inigo Martinez, Mikel Balenziaga (Oscar De Marcos, min.53), Alex Berenguer, Unai Vencedor (Mikel Vesga, min.80), Dani Garcia, Iker Muniain (Nicholas Williams, min.56), Raul Garcia (Nicolas Serrano, min.80) and Inaki Williams
Stadium: the Mestalla
Goals: Inigo Martinez (0-1, min. 69) and Marcos De Sousa (1-1, min. 90)