Osasuna 1 – Rayo 0: Victory denied for visitors as Los Rojillos win

Osasuna vs. Rayo Vallecano

Photo Credit: AP

Osasuna beats Rayo Vallecano 1-0 on Saturday at the Estadio El Sadar. Both teams arrived fresh from some positive results. Osasuna were looking to pick up points after winning last match whilst Rayo were coming from consecutive wins against Cádiz and Athletic Bilbao. After today’s result, Osasuna and Rayo are 5th, (14 points) and 6th, (13 points), in the table respectively, after 8 matches.

Following a goalless first half, Los Rojillos piled on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Manu Sanchez just before the final whistle so at full time it was 1-0 to Osasuna.

For Osasuna, Javi Martinez, Ezequiel Avila, Oier and Jose Angel, came on for Roberto Torres, Ruben Garcia, Jon Moncayola and Lucas Torro. Rayo replaced Sergi Guardiola, Randy Nteka, Óscar Valentín, Bebe and Unai Lopez with Oscar Trejo, Falcao, Pathe Ciss, Isi Palazon and Santi Comesana.

There were bookings for Lucas Torro, Javi Martinez and Ezequiel Avila from Osasuna, and Ivan Balliu, Oscar Trejo and Falcao, for Rayo.

Osasuna will next travel to Villarreal, while Rayo will face Elche at home.

Technical card:
Osasuna: Sergio Herrera, Nacho Vidal, David Garcia, Unai Garcia, Manu Sanchez, Darko Brasanac, Lucas Torro (Jose Angel, min.86), Jon Moncayola (Oier, min.81), Kike Garcia, Roberto Torres (Javi Martinez, min.67) and Ruben Garcia (Ezequiel Avila, min.67)
Rayo Vallecano: Stole Dimitrievski, Ivan Balliu, Alejandro Catena, Esteban Saveljich, Francisco Garcia, Isi Palazon (Bebe, min.88), Pathe Ciss (Óscar Valentín, min.72), Santi Comesana (Unai Lopez, min.88), Alvaro Garcia, Falcao (Randy Nteka, min.57) and Oscar Trejo (Sergi Guardiola, min.56)
Stadium: the Estadio El Sadar
Goals: Manu Sanchez (1-0, min. 90)