Celta Vigo 2-1 Osasuna – Visitors fail to take points as The Sky Blues beat Los Rojillos 2-1

Home win for Celta as Osasuna are unable to find the winning formula on Sunday
Celta Vigo vs. Osasuna
Jose Montes

Jose Montes

If you read Jose’s writing, you would never think that he is anything but professional. However, he is the joker of our team.

Celta Vigo snatched all three points from Osasuna in a 2-1 victory on Sunday, at the Estadio Municipal de Balaidos. Celta wanted to continue adding points after a scoreless draw against Cádiz in their previous match. Osasuna were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Elche and Villarreal. Following today’s result, Celta and Osasuna sit 9th, (41 points) and 10th, (40 points), in the table respectively, after 32 matches.

Celta started strongly in the first half, with Iago Aspas finding the net just before half-time

The Sky Blues continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Jeison Murillo in the 64th minute. In the end though, Los Rojillos at the 77 minute mark pull-back following a Roberto Torres goal, leaving the final score at 2-1.

For Celta, Kevin Vazquez, Augusto Solari, Fran Beltran, Nestor Araujo and Aaron Martin, came on for Enrique Barja, Juan Cruz, Ruben Garcia, Oier and Ante Budimir. Osasuna brought on Jony, Manu Sanchez, Roberto Torres, Ezequiel Avila and Enric Gallego, to replace Enrique Barja, Juan Cruz, Ruben Garcia, Oier and Ante Budimir.

There were bookings for Iago Aspas from Celta, and Juan Cruz, Darko Brasanac, Oier and Manu Sanchez, for Osasuna.

Celta will play their next fixture at home against Levante, while Osasuna will face R Madrid away.

Technical card:
Celta Vigo: Ivan Villar, Hugo Mallo (Kevin Vazquez, min.7), Renato Tapia, Jeison Murillo, Joseph Aidoo, Jose Fontan (Nestor Araujo, min.82), Nolito (Fran Beltran, min.61), Santi Mina (Aaron Martin, min.82), Brais Mendez (Augusto Solari, min.61), Denis Suarez and Iago Aspas
Osasuna: Sergio Herrera, Jonas Ramalho, Unai Garcia, Facundo Roncaglia, Juan Cruz (Manu Sanchez, min.46), Jon Moncayola, Oier (Ezequiel Avila, min.73), Darko Brasanac, Ruben Garcia (Roberto Torres, min.46), Ante Budimir (Enric Gallego, min.74) and Enrique Barja (Jony, min.46)
Stadium: the Estadio Municipal de Balaidos
Goals: Iago Aspas (1-0, min. 42), Jeison Murillo (2-0, min. 64) and Roberto Torres (2-1, min. 77)


More From 888post