Celta 1 – Granada 0: The Sky Blues celebrate win at the Estadio Municipal de Balaidos

Photo Credit: AP

Celta Vigo beat Granada with a thumping 1-0 victory on Monday at the Estadio Municipal de Balaidos. Celta were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning last match. Granada, on the other hand, lost 3-2 in the last match they played against Real Sociedad. Following today’s result, Celta are in 13th place on the table and has 7 points while Granada sit in 18th with 3 points after 7 matches.

Following a goalless first half, The Sky Blues applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to Denis Suarez giving Celta the lead just before the final whistle. They managed to see the game out with a clean sheet and a final score of 1-0.

For Celta, Denis Suarez, Franco Cervi, Thiago Galhardo, Okay Yokuslu and Augusto Solari, came on for Fran Beltran, Nolito, Brais Mendez, Nestor Araujo and Renato Tapia. Granada brought on Angel Montoro, Jorge Molina, Victor Diaz, Aaron Escandell and Sergio Escudero, to replace Maxime Gonalons, Carlos Bacca, Domingos Duarte, Luis Maximiano and Antonio Puertas.

There were bookings for Brais Mendez and Iago Aspas from Celta, and Antonio Puertas, Domingos Duarte, Angel Montoro, Aaron Escandell, Quini and Carlos Neva, for Granada.

Celta will next play Elche away, with Granada facing Seville at home.

Technical card:
Celta Vigo: Matias Dituro, Hugo Mallo, Jeison Murillo, Nestor Araujo (Okay Yokuslu, min.86), Javi Galan, Brais Mendez (Thiago Galhardo, min.78), Fran Beltran (Denis Suarez, min.46), Renato Tapia (Augusto Solari, min.86), Nolito (Franco Cervi, min.62), Santi Mina and Iago Aspas
Granada: Luis Maximiano (Aaron Escandell, min.77), Quini, Domingos Duarte (Victor Diaz, min.77), German Sanchez, Carlos Neva, Luis Milla, Antonio Puertas (Sergio Escudero, min.78), Maxime Gonalons (Angel Montoro, min.19), Carlos Bacca (Jorge Molina, min.68), Luis Suarez and Alberto Soro
Stadium: the Estadio Municipal de Balaidos
Goals: Denis Suarez (1-0, min. 90)