Barcelona – Celta Vigo: Barca fail to stop visitors as C Vigo seal the win

This result takes Eduardo Coudet's team to 53 points in the competition
Barcelona vs. Celta Vigo
Jose Montes

Jose Montes

If you read Jose’s writing, you would never think that he is anything but professional. However, he is the joker of our team.

Celta Vigo enjoyed a mesmerising away victory against Barca at the Nou Camp on Sunday. Barca arrived with the intention of increasing their league score following a disappointing 3-3 draw with Levante in their previous game whilst Celta were coming from consecutive wins against Getafe and Villarreal. As it stands, Barca are in 3rd place on the table and has 76 points while Celta sit in 8th with 53 points after 37 matches.

Los Blaugranas started the first half well, with Lionel Messi giving Barca the lead in the 28th minute. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Santi Mina equalised for The Sky Blues, 38 minutes in, finalising the first half 1-1.

Celta continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to Santi Mina finding the net again just before the final whistle, sealing a 2-1 victory for the home side.

For Barca, Riqui Puig, Sergino Dest, Martin Braithwaite, Trincao and Miralem Pjanic, came on for Pedri, Gerard Pique, Antoine Griezmann, Ousmane Dembele and Moriba Ilaix. Celta brought on Augusto Solari, Miguel Baeza and Hugo Sotelo, to replace Nolito, Iago Aspas and Fran Beltran.

The referee booked Riqui Puig and Clement Lenglet from Barca and Clement Lenglet (2 yellow cards) went off with a red card, while Celta’s Carlos Dominguez also received a yellow.

Barca will next travel to Eibar, while Celta will face Real Betis at home.

Technical card:
Barcelona: Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Gerard Pique (Sergino Dest, min.64), Clement Lenglet, Ronald Araujo, Jordi Alba, Pedri (Riqui Puig, min.46), Sergio Busquets, Moriba Ilaix (Miralem Pjanic, min.86), Ousmane Dembele (Trincao, min.70), Antoine Griezmann (Martin Braithwaite, min.70) and Lionel Messi
Celta Vigo: Ivan Villar, Kevin Vazquez, Nestor Araujo, Carlos Dominguez, Aaron Martin, Fran Beltran (Hugo Sotelo, min.90), Brais Mendez, Denis Suarez, Nolito (Augusto Solari, min.69), Iago Aspas (Miguel Baeza, min.78) and Santi Mina
Stadium: the Nou Camp
Goals: Lionel Messi (1-0, min. 28), Santi Mina (1-1, min. 38) and Santi Mina (1-2, min. 89)


More From 888post