Atleti 2 – Villarreal 2: Victory elusive at Wanda Metropolitano for both sides

Atletico Madrid vs. Villarreal

Photo Credit: AP

Atleti were held to 2-2 draw by Villarreal down on Sunday at Wanda Metropolitano. Atleti were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two games in the league. The most recent was against the Elche at home (1-0), the other to Celta Vigo away (2-1). Villarreal are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. As things stand, Atleti and Villarreal currently occupy 5th and 11th spots in the league, with 7 points and 3 points respectively after 3 matches.

Following a goalless first half, Whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Villarreal who started the second half well, thanks to Manu Trigueros finding the net, 52 minutes in. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Luis Suarez at the 56 minute mark brought Atleti level. However, each side looked hungry to win and The Yellow Submarine then found the back of the net, 74 minutes in thanks to Arnaut Danjuma, taking the score to 2-1. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Aissa Mandi equalised for Los Colchoneros just before the final whistle. The final result, Atleti 2, Villarreal 2.

For Atleti, Rodrigo De Paul, Saul Niguez, Matheus Cunha, Geoffrey Kondogbia and Renan Lodi, came on for Yannick Carrasco, Luis Suarez, Thomas Lemar, Mario Hermoso and Jose Gimenez. Villarreal brought on Alfonso Pedraza, Francis Coquelin, Arnaut Danjuma and Mario Gaspar, to replace Alberto Moreno, Boulaye Dia, Pervis Estupinan and Yeremi Pino.

There were bookings for Angel Correa, Thomas Lemar, Luis Suarez and Rodrigo De Paul from Atleti, and Gerard Moreno and Geronimo Rulli, for Villarreal.

Atleti will next play Espanyol away, with Villarreal facing Alaves at home.

Technical card:
Atletico Madrid: Geronimo Rulli, Juan Foyth, Raul Albiol, Aissa Mandi, Pervis Estupinan, Yeremi Pino, Manu Trigueros, Etienne Capoue, Alberto Moreno, Boulaye Dia and Gerard Moreno
Villarreal: Jan Oblak, Jose Gimenez, Mario Hermoso, Stefan Savic, Kieran Trippier, Koke, Marcos Llorente, Thomas Lemar, Yannick Carrasco, Luis Suarez and Angel Correa
Stadium: Wanda Metropolitano
Goals: Manu Trigueros (0-1, min. 52), Luis Suarez (1-1, min. 56), Arnaut Danjuma (1-2, min. 74) and Aissa Mandi (2-2, min. 90)