Atletico Madrid 2-0 Huesca: Mission accomplished for Los Colchoneros as they secure a 2-0 home win against Huesca

Pacheta suffers defeat on the road, at the hands of Atleti on Thursday
Atletico Madrid vs. Huesca
Jose Montes

Jose Montes

If you read Jose’s writing, you would never think that he is anything but professional. However, he is the joker of our team.

Atleti enjoyed a mesmerising home victory against Huesca at Wanda Metropolitano on Thursday. Atleti were looking to pick up points after winning last match. Huesca, on the other hand, lost 1-0 in the last match they played against Alaves. After today’s result, Atleti are in 1st place, with 73 points from 31 matches, while Huesca sit in 18th, with 27 points from 31.

Atleti started strongly in the first half, thanks to Angel Correa giving Atleti the lead at the 39 minute mark, finalising the first half 1-0.

Los Colchoneros continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Yannick Carrasco finding the net in the 80th minute. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 2-0 to Atleti.

For Atleti, Moussa Dembele, Geoffrey Kondogbia, Lucas Torreira, Vitolo and Felipe, came on for Hector Herrera, Yannick Carrasco, Angel Correa, Saul Niguez and Renan Lodi. Huesca brought on David Ferreiro, Sandro Ramirez, Javi Galan, Pedro Lopez and Borja Garcia, to replace Shinji Okazaki, Rafa Mir, Pedro Mosquera, Sergio Gomez and Pablo Insua.

The referee booked Jose Gimenez and Saul Niguez for Atleti.

Atleti will play away against Elche, while Huesca will face Real Sociedad at home.

Technical card:
Atletico Madrid: Jan Oblak, Kieran Trippier, Stefan Savic, Jose Gimenez, Renan Lodi (Felipe, min.87), Saul Niguez (Vitolo, min.87), Koke, Hector Herrera (Moussa Dembele, min.77), Yannick Carrasco (Geoffrey Kondogbia, min.84), Marcos Llorente and Angel Correa (Lucas Torreira, min.84)
Huesca: Alvaro Fernandez, Jorge Pulido, Pablo Insua (Borja Garcia, min.85), Dimitrios Siovas, Mikel Rico, Dani Escriche, Pedro Mosquera (Javi Galan, min.63), Idrissa Doumbia, Sergio Gomez (Pedro Lopez, min.85), Shinji Okazaki (David Ferreiro, min.63) and Rafa Mir (Sandro Ramirez, min.63)
Stadium: Wanda Metropolitano
Goals: Angel Correa (1-0, min. 39) and Yannick Carrasco (2-0, min. 80)


More From 888post