Athletic Bilbao 1 – Rayo 2: Visitors secure 3 points at San Mames Stadium

Athletic Bilbao vs. Rayo Vallecano

Photo Credit: AP

Rayo Vallecano enjoyed a mesmerising away victory against Athletic Bilbao at San Mames Stadium on Tuesday. Athletic Bilbao were looking for a victory following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Atletico Madrid in their previous game. Rayo were able to continue their winning streak after a 3-0 win against Getafe in their last match. Following today’s result, Athletic Bilbao and Rayo currently occupy 6th and 4th spots in the table, with 9 points and 10 points respectively after 6 matches.

Rayo started strongly in the first half, thanks to an early goal from Alvaro Garcia in the 5th minute. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Pathe Ciss equalised for Athletic Bilbao at the 33 minute mark. The score at half time was 1-1.

Rayo continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Falcao giving Rayo the lead just before the final whistle. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 2-1 to Rayo.

For Athletic Bilbao, Inaki Williams, Unai Vencedor, Alex Berenguer, Dani Garcia and Jon Morcillo, came on for Raul Garcia, Oier Zarraga, Iker Muniain, Mikel Vesga and Nicholas Williams. Rayo brought on Randy Nteka, Óscar Valentín, Falcao, Kevin Rodrigues and Bebe, to replace Sergi Guardiola, Pathe Ciss, Unai Lopez, Isi Palazon and Alvaro Garcia.

There were bookings for Unai Nunez, Iker Muniain and Inigo Martinez from Athletic Bilbao, and Alejandro Catena, Sergi Guardiola and Nikola Maras, for Rayo.

Athletic Bilbao will next play Valencia away, with Rayo facing Cádiz at home.

Technical card:
Athletic Bilbao: Unai Simon, Oscar De Marcos, Unai Nunez, Inigo Martinez, Inigo Lekue, Nicholas Williams (Jon Morcillo, min.75), Oier Zarraga (Unai Vencedor, min.69), Mikel Vesga (Dani Garcia, min.75), Iker Muniain (Alex Berenguer, min.69), Asier Villalibre and Raul Garcia (Inaki Williams, min.63)
Rayo Vallecano: Stole Dimitrievski, Ivan Balliu, Nikola Maras, Alejandro Catena, Francisco Garcia, Santi Comesana, Pathe Ciss (Óscar Valentín, min.59), Unai Lopez (Falcao, min.76), Alvaro Garcia (Bebe, min.80), Sergi Guardiola (Randy Nteka, min.59) and Isi Palazon (Kevin Rodrigues, min.80)
Stadium: San Mames Stadium
Goals: Alvaro Garcia (0-1, min. 5), Pathe Ciss (1-1, min. 33) and Falcao (1-2, min. 90)