Athletic Bilbao 2-2 Osasuna: Athletic Bilbao held 2-2 by Osasuna in at the Estadio San Mames

Neither Athletic Bilbao nor Osasuna able to break the dead-lock, the game ends in a 2-2 draw
Athletic Bilbao vs. Osasuna
Jose Montes

Jose Montes

If you read Jose’s writing, you would never think that he is anything but professional. However, he is the joker of our team.

On Saturday, Athletic Bilbao and Osasuna were held to a 2-2 draw at the Estadio San Mames. Athletic Bilbao were looking to continue their run, following a 1-0 victory against Seville. Osasuna were beaten 2-0 in the previous match against R Madrid. After today’s result, Athletic Bilbao and Osasuna currently occupy 8th and 12th spots in the league, with 46 points and 41 points respectively after 35 matches.

The Lions found the net first, thanks to an early goal from Jon Morcillo in the 1st minute. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Darko Brasanac equalised for Los Rojillos at the 12 minute mark. The score at half time was 1-1.

Athletic Bilbao took the initiative in the second half, with a goal from Oihan Sancet at the 62 minute mark. In the end though, their lead was short lived, as Ante Budimir equalised for Osasuna just before the final whistle and seeing the game end 2-2.

For Athletic Bilbao, Inaki Williams, Ibai Gomez, Raul Garcia and Unai Lopez, came on for Asier Villalibre, Jon Morcillo, Oihan Sancet and Alex Berenguer. Osasuna replaced Lucas Torro, Jonas Ramalho, Juan Cruz, Roberto Torres and Enrique Barja for Ezequiel Avila, Nacho Vidal, Ruben Garcia, Jony and Enric Gallego.

There were bookings for Unai Vencedor from Athletic Bilbao. For Osasuna, Lucas Torro and Darko Brasanac saw yellow.

Athletic Bilbao will next play Huesca away, with Osasuna facing Cádiz at home.

Technical card:
Athletic Bilbao: Unai Simon, Oscar De Marcos, Inigo Martinez, Unai Nunez, Mikel Balenziaga, Alex Berenguer (Unai Lopez, min.80), Unai Vencedor, Mikel Vesga, Jon Morcillo (Ibai Gomez, min.75), Asier Villalibre (Inaki Williams, min.75) and Oihan Sancet (Raul Garcia, min.80)
Osasuna: Sergio Herrera, Jonas Ramalho (Nacho Vidal, min.72), Aridane, David Garcia, Juan Cruz (Ruben Garcia, min.72), Roberto Torres (Jony, min.79), Lucas Torro (Ezequiel Avila, min.71), Darko Brasanac, Jon Moncayola, Enrique Barja (Enric Gallego, min.88) and Ante Budimir
Stadium: the Estadio San Mames
Goals: Jon Morcillo (1-0, min. 1), Darko Brasanac (1-1, min. 12), Oihan Sancet (2-1, min. 62) and Ante Budimir (2-2, min. 89)


More From 888post