Athletic Bilbao 1 – Barca 1- Victory elusive at San Mames Stadium for both sides

Athletic Bilbao vs. Barcelona

On Saturday, Athletic Bilbao and Barca were held to a 1-1 draw at San Mames Stadium. Athletic Bilbao were looking for a victory after a scoreless draw against Elche in their previous match. Barca, on the other hand, were able to continue their winning streak after a 4-2 win against Real Sociedad in their last match. As the table looks today, Athletic Bilbao are currently 9th with 2 points from 2 matches, while Barca sit in 1st, with 4 points from 2.

Following a goalless first half, Whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Athletic Bilbao who started the second half well, thanks to an early goal from Inigo Martinez in the 50th minute. In the end though, their lead was short lived, as Memphis Depay equalised for Barca in the 75th minute. The final result, Athletic Bilbao 1, Barca 1.

For Athletic Bilbao, Raul Garcia, Mikel Vesga, Nicholas Williams, Jon Morcillo and Oier Zarraga, came on for Oihan Sancet, Unai Vencedor, Iker Muniain, Alex Berenguer and Dani Garcia. Barca brought on Ronald Araujo, Yusuf Demir, Sergi Roberto and Emerson, to replace Gerard Pique, Martin Braithwaite, Pedri and Sergino Dest.

The referee booked Inigo Martinez from Athletic Bilbao. Barca had the worst of it though, with Eric Garcia and Jordi Alba seeing yellow, and Eric Garcia then sent off with a red.

Athletic Bilbao will next play Celta Vigo away, with Barca facing Getafe at home.

Technical card:
Athletic Bilbao: Julen Agirrezabala, Inigo Lekue, Inigo Martinez, Dani Vivian, Mikel Balenziaga, Alex Berenguer (Jon Morcillo, min.82), Unai Vencedor (Mikel Vesga, min.67), Dani Garcia (Oier Zarraga, min.82), Iker Muniain (Nicholas Williams, min.76), Inaki Williams and Oihan Sancet (Raul Garcia, min.67)
Barcelona: Neto, Sergino Dest (Emerson, min.82), Eric Garcia, Gerard Pique (Ronald Araujo, min.31), Jordi Alba, Frenkie De Jong, Sergio Busquets, Pedri (Sergi Roberto, min.62), Martin Braithwaite (Yusuf Demir, min.62), Memphis Depay and Antoine Griezmann
Stadium: San Mames Stadium
Goals: Inigo Martinez (1-0, min. 50) and Memphis Depay (1-1, min. 75)