Athletic Bilbao triumph over Getafe, with an emphatic 5 goal display

Photo Credit: AP

Technical card:
Athletic Bilbao: Ruben Yanez, Damian Suarez, Xabier Etxeita, Djene, Allan Nyom, Takefusa Kubo, Mauro Arambarri, Nemanja Maksimovic, Marc Cucurella, Carles Alena and Jaime Mata
Getafe: Unai Simon, Ander Capa, Yeray Alvarez, Unai Nunez, Mikel Balenziaga, Oscar De Marcos, Dani Garcia, Unai Vencedor, Iker Muniain, Inaki Williams and Raul Garcia
Stadium: San Mames
Goals: Marc Cucurella (0-1, min. 1), Raul Garcia (1-1, min. 13), Yeray Alvarez (2-1, min. 50), Raul Garcia (3-1, min. 61), Alex Berenguer (4-1, min. 75) and Oscar De Marcos (5-1, min. 82)

Athletic beat Getafe with a thumping 5-1 victory on Monday at San Mames. Athletic Bilbao arrived at the game looking pick up points after losing their last game 3-1 to Real Madrid. Getafe were coming from consecutive wins against Huesca and Elche. As the table looks today, Athletic Bilbao and Getafe currently occupy 9th and 13th spots in the league, with 24 points and 23 points respectively after 20 matches.

Getafe started the game well, with early goal from Marc Cucurella in the 1st minute. However, their lead didn’t last for long, as an equalizer from a Raul Garcia in the 13th minute brought Athletic Bilbao level, to take a 1-1 lead into half time.

Athletic Bilbao started the second half on an intensified spirit, with early goal from Yeray Alvarez in the 50th minute. Later, Athletic Bilbao scored again thanks to a new goal from Raul Garcia, scoring his second goal, 61 minutes in to establish the 3-1. Later, Athletic Bilbao scored again thanks to a goal from Alex Berenguer in minute 75 to establish the 4-1. Later, Athletic Bilbao scored again and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Oscar De Marcos, 82 minutes in. The game ended with a 5-1 victory for Athletic Bilbao.

For Athletic, Inigo Lekue, Mikel Vesga, Alex Berenguer, Asier Villalibre and Unai Lopez came on for Nemanja Maksimovic, Takefusa Kubo, Jaime Mata and Mauro Arambarri, while Getafe brought on Angel Rodriguez, Mamor Niang, Francisco Portillo and John Joe Patrick Finn to replace Nemanja Maksimovic, Takefusa Kubo, Jaime Mata and Mauro Arambarri.

There were bookings for Unai Nunez, Raul Garcia, Dani Garcia and Unai Vencedor from Athletic and Nemanja Maksimovic, Jaime Mata, Xabier Etxeita and Djene for Getafe.

Athletic Bilbao will next play Barcelona away, with Getafe facing Alavés at home.


*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*