Huddersfield Town 4-1 Swansea City: Victory for Huddersfield Town, in a 4-1 trashing at John Smith’s Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Technical card:
Huddersfield Town: Andre Ayew, Jamal Lowe, Ryan Bennett, Connor Roberts, Kyle Naughton, Freddie Woodman, Conor Hourihane, Marc Guehi, Matt Grimes, Jay Fulton and Jake Bidwell
Swansea City: Pipa, Fraizer Campbell, Alex Vallejo, Aaron Rowe, Naby Sarr, Ryan Schofield, Richard Keogh, Duane Holmes, Lewis O’Brien, Juninho Bacuna and Jonathan Hogg
Stadium: John Smith’s Stadium
Goals: Fraizer Campbell (1-0, min. 22), Conor Hourihane (1-1, min. 45), Lewis O’Brien (2-1, min. 49), Duane Holmes (3-1, min. 52) and Duane Holmes (4-1, min. 55)

Huddersfield Town eased past Swansea in a 4-1 victory on Saturday at John Smith’s Stadium. Huddersfield Town arrived at the game looking pick up points after losing their last game 2-1 to Middlesbrough. Swansea City were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Nottingham Forest and Norwich City. At the moment, Huddersfield Town are currently 18th with 36 points from 31 matches, while Swansea City sit in 4th, with 56 points from 31.

Huddersfield Town started the first half well, with Fraizer Campbell opening the rout in the 22nd minute. However, their lead didn’t last for long, as an equalizer from a Conor Hourihane just before half-time brought Swansea City level, to take a 1-1 lead into half time.

The second half started favourably for Huddersfield Town, with early goal from Lewis O’Brien in the 49th minute. Later, Huddersfield Town scored again thanks to a goal from Duane Holmes in the 52nd minute to establish the 3-1. Later, Huddersfield Town scored again and increased their lead thanks to another goal from Duane Holmes, scoring his second goal, 55 minutes in, sealing a resounding 4-1 victory for the home side.

For Huddersfield Town Kieran Phillips, Alex Pritchard, Richard Stearman and Jaden Brown came on for Fraizer Campbell, Jonathan Hogg, Duane Holmes and Aaron Rowe, while Swansea brought on Jordan Morris, Ben Cabango, Ryan Manning, Morgan Whittaker and Yan Dhanda to replace Jamal Lowe, Ryan Bennett, Jake Bidwell, Kyle Naughton and Jay Fulton.

There were bookings for Lewis O’Brien from Huddersfield Town and Jay Fulton for Swansea.

Huddersfield Town will next play Derby County away, with Swansea City facing Coventry City at home.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*