Sporting Braga 3 – Midtjylland 1:Sporting Braga squeeze past FC Midtjylland in 3-1 victory at Braga Municipal

Sporting Braga vs. FC Midtjylland

Photo Credit: AP

Sporting Braga eased past FC Midtjylland in a 3-1 victory on Thursday at Braga Municipal. Sporting Braga were looking to get back their winning ways, following a previous defeat to Red Star Belgrade. Midtjylland secured a point against Razgrad Ludogorets in their previous match. After today’s result, Sporting Braga and Midtjylland currently occupy 2nd and 4th spots in the table, with 3 points and 1 point respectively after 2 matches.

Midtjylland started the game well, thanks to Evander finding the net, 19 minutes in. The score at half time was 0-1.

Sporting Braga started the second half with renewed vigour, with a goal from Wenderson Galeno, 55 minutes in. The momentum was now with Sporting Braga, who then scored again through a goal from Ricardo Horta, 62 minutes in to establish a 2-1. However they weren’t finished yet and Wenderson Galeno made it 3-1 just before the final whistle to make it 3-1.

For Sporting Braga, Francisco Moura, Mario Gonzalez, Iuri Medeiros, Lucas Mineiro and Andre Horta, came on for Nuno Sequeira, Andre Castro, Lucas Piazon, Al Musrati and Ricardo Horta. Midtjylland brought on Jens-Lys Cajuste, Marrony and Victor Lind, to replace Raphael Onyedika, Gustav Isaksen and Pione Sisto.

The referee booked Diogo Leite, Tiago Sa and Paulo Oliveira from Sporting Braga. Midtjylland had the worst of it though, with Erik Sviatchenko, Elias Rafn Olafsson, Juninho and Evander seeing yellow, and Juninho then sent off with a red.

Sporting Braga will play away against Razgrad Ludogorets, while Midtjylland will face Red Star Belgrade at home.

Technical card:
Sporting Braga: Matheus Magalhaes, Yan Couto, Diogo Leite, Paulo Oliveira, Nuno Sequeira (Francisco Moura, min.46), Andre Castro (Mario Gonzalez, min.46), Al Musrati (Lucas Mineiro, min.72), Chiquinho, Wenderson Galeno, Lucas Piazon (Iuri Medeiros, min.62), Ricardo Horta (Andre Horta, min.82) and Tiago Sa
FC Midtjylland: Elias Rafn Olafsson, Henrik Dalsgaard, Erik Sviatchenko, Juninho, Joel Andersson, Raphael Onyedika (Jens-Lys Cajuste, min.71), Evander, Paulinho, Gustav Isaksen (Marrony, min.71), Pione Sisto (Victor Lind, min.79) and Junior Brumado
Stadium: Braga Municipal
Goals: Evander (0-1, min. 19), Wenderson Galeno (1-1, min. 55), Ricardo Horta (2-1, min. 62) and Wenderson Galeno (3-1, min. 90)