Sturm Graz 1 – PSV 4-Sturm Graz succumb to a 4-1 home defeat by PSV

SK Sturm Graz vs. PSV

Photo Credit: AP

PSV snatched all three points from SK Sturm Graz in a 4-1 victory on Thursday, at Merkur Arena. Sturm Graz arrived at the game looking pick up points after losing their last game 1-0 to AS Mónaco. PSV are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. As the table looks today, Sturm Graz are currently 4th with 0 points from 2 matches, while PSV sit in 1st, with 4 points from 2.

PSV started the game well, with Ibrahim Sangare opening the rout, 32 minutes in, finalising the first half 0-1.

PSV fought back, with Eran Zahavi finding the net after 51 minutes. However, Sturm Graz weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Jon Gorenc-Stankovic in the 55th minute. However, PSV increased their lead 3-1 thanks to a goal from Philipp Max in the 74th minute. However they weren’t finished yet and Yorbe Vertessen made it 4-1, 78 minutes in to make it 4-1.

For Sturm Graz, Andreas Kuen, Manprit Sarkaria, Anderson Niangbo, Alexander Prass and Christoph Lang, came on for Ivan Ljubic, Jakob Jantscher, Kelvin Yeboah, Otar Kiteishvili and Stefan Hierlander. PSV brought on Carlos Vinicius, Yorbe Vertessen, Armando Obispo, Erick Gutierrez and Mauro Junior, to replace Ritsu Doan, Eran Zahavi, Marco Van Ginkel, Mario Gotze and Cody Gakpo.

The referee booked Otar Kiteishvili, Jusuf Gazibegovic and Jon Gorenc-Stankovic from Sturm Graz. PSV had the worst of it though, with Olivier Boscagli, Ibrahim Sangare and Cody Gakpo seeing yellow, and Ibrahim Sangare (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Sturm Graz next face Real Sociedad and PSV are at home to AS Mónaco.

Technical card:
SK Sturm Graz: Jörg Siebenhandl, Jusuf Gazibegovic, Gregory Wuthrich, Jon Gorenc-Stankovic, David Affengruber, Amadou Dante, Otar Kiteishvili (Alexander Prass, min.82), Ivan Ljubic (Andreas Kuen, min.46), Stefan Hierlander (Christoph Lang, min.82), Jakob Jantscher (Manprit Sarkaria, min.68) and Kelvin Yeboah (Anderson Niangbo, min.78)
PSV: Joel Drommel, Philipp Mwene, Olivier Boscagli, Ramalho, Philipp Max, Ibrahim Sangare, Mario Gotze (Erick Gutierrez, min.81), Marco Van Ginkel (Armando Obispo, min.81), Eran Zahavi (Yorbe Vertessen, min.65), Ritsu Doan (Carlos Vinicius, min.65) and Cody Gakpo (Mauro Junior, min.90)
Stadium: Merkur Arena
Goals: Ibrahim Sangare (0-1, min. 32), Eran Zahavi (0-2, min. 51), Jon Gorenc-Stankovic (1-2, min. 55), Philipp Max (1-3, min. 74) and Yorbe Vertessen (1-4, min. 78)