Croatia 3 – Spain 5: The Red Fury cruise past The Croats

Croatia vs. Spain

Spain won Croatia after extra time, in the return match of the round of 16 held this Monday.

Croatia started the first half well, thanks to Pedri finding the net at the 20 minute mark. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Sarabia equalised for The Red Fury in the 38th minute to see out the first half 1-1.

Spain continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Azpilicueta, 57 minutes in. Spain looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a goal from Ferran Torres at the 77 minute mark to establish a 3-1. However, The Croats weren't lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Oršić at the 85 minute mark. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Pašalić just before the final whistle with a final score of 3-3.

Although the game concluded 3-3 extra time was necessary, since both teams were tied. Fortunately in the the first half of extra time Spain, with Morata giving Spain the lead in the 100th minute. However they weren't finished yet and Oyarzabal made it 5-3, 103 minutes in, finalising the first half of extra time 5-3.

Finally, the result didn't change so the match finalised 5-3.

For Croatia, Kramarić, Oršić, Brekalo, Budimir, Pašalić and Ivanušec, came on for Petkovic, Rebić, Juranović, Kovačić, Vlasic and Modrić. Spain replaced Pau, Dani Olmo, Fabián, Jordi Alba, Oyarzabal and Rodri with Garcia, Sarabia, Koke, Gayà, Ferran Torres and Busquets.

The referee booked Brozović and Ćaleta-Car for Croatia.

The Red Fury now march on to the next stage, having dispatched their opponents in the last. This was a result that will give them renewed confidence going forward.

Technical card:
Croatia: Livakovic, Ćaleta-Car, Vida, Gvardiol, Juranović (Brekalo, min.74), Brozović, Kovačić (Budimir, min.79), Modrić (Ivanušec, min.114), Rebić (Oršić, min.67), Petkovic (Kramarić, min.46) and Vlasic (Pašalić, min.79)
Spain: Simón, Laporte, Garcia (Pau, min.72), Gayà (Jordi Alba, min.78), Azpilicueta, Busquets (Rodri, min.102), Pedri, Koke (Fabián, min.78), Sarabia (Dani Olmo, min.72), Morata and Ferran Torres (Oyarzabal, min.88)
Stadium: Parken Stadion
Goals: Pedri (1-0, min. 20), Sarabia (1-1, min. 38), Azpilicueta (1-2, min. 57), Ferran Torres (1-3, min. 77), Oršić (2-3, min. 85), Pašalić (3-3, min. 90), Morata (3-4, min. 100) and Oyarzabal (3-5, min. 103)