Derby County 2-0 Huddersfield Town: Huddersfield Town unable to avoid narrow defeat away to Derby County (2-0)

Technical card:
Derby County: Pipa, Fraizer Campbell, Alex Vallejo, Aaron Rowe, Naby Sarr, Ryan Schofield, Demeaco Duhaney, Richard Keogh, Duane Holmes, Lewis O’Brien and Juninho Bacuna
Huddersfield Town: Matt Clarke, Jason Knight, Max Bird, Graeme Shinnie, David Marshall, Andre Wisdom, Kazim, Lee Gregory, George Edmundson, Nathan Byrne and Lee Buchanan
Stadium: Pride Park Stadium
Goals: George Edmundson (1-0, min. 22) and Martyn Waghorn (2-0, min. 66)

Derby County eased past Huddersfield Town in a 2-0 victory on Tuesday at Pride Park Stadium. Derby County were looking forward to meeting again, following a previous defeat to Watford. Huddersfield Town had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 4-1 victory against Swansea City. As it stands, Derby County and Huddersfield Town are 16th, (37 points) and 19th, (36 points), spots respectively, after 32 matches.

Derby County started the game well, beginning with a goal from George Edmundson in the 22nd minute and managed to see out the first half 1-0.

Derby County continued to apply pressure the second half and were rewarded, with Martyn Waghorn opening the scoring in the 66th minute, which sealed the victory for Derby County.

For Derby County, Martyn Waghorn, Kamil Jozwiak and Louie Watson came on for Fraizer Campbell, Juninho Bacuna, Duane Holmes, Aaron Rowe and Pipa, while Huddersfield Town replaced Kieran Phillips, Isaac Mbenza, Scott High, Jaden Brown and Sorba Thomas with Fraizer Campbell, Juninho Bacuna, Duane Holmes, Aaron Rowe and Pipa.

The referee booked Nathan Byrne from Derby County. Huddersfield Town had the worst of it though, with Aaron Rowe and Jaden Brown seeing yellow, and Jaden Brown (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Derby County will play at home against Nottingham Forest, while Huddersfield Town will face Preston North End away.