West Brom 4 – Sheffield U 0: No mercy for The Blades as The Baggies take the points

Photo Credit: AP

Sheffield United on away loss to West Brom at The Hawthorns on Wednesday. West Brom were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run, following a 3-2 victory against Luton Town. Sheffield U are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. As it stands, West Brom and Sheffield U currently occupy 1st and 22nd spots in the league, with 7 points and 1 point respectively after 3 matches.

West Brom didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, with Jack Robinson opening the rout in the 26th minute. The Baggies then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Dara O’Shea just before half-time, which saw the first half end 2-0.

West Brom staged a comeback in the second half, with Alex Mowatt finding the net in the 53rd minute. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Callum Robinson, at 59 minutes with a final score of 4-0.

Both managers used the full entitlement. For West Brom, Matthew Phillips, Semi Ajayi and Adam Reach, came on for Grady Diangana, Jake Livermore and Matt Clarke, Sheffield U brought on Oliver McBurnie, Oliver Burke and Luke Freeman, to replace David McGoldrick, Billy Sharp and Sander Berge.

The referee booked David McGoldrick for Sheffield U.

West Brom will next travel to Blackburn Rovers, while Sheffield U will face Huddersfield Town at home.

Technical card:
West Bromwich Albion: Sam Johnstone, Conor Townsend, Karlan Grant, Dara O’Shea, Grady Diangana (Matthew Phillips, min.56), Callum Robinson, Alex Mowatt, Jake Livermore (Semi Ajayi, min.77), Darnell Furlong, Matt Clarke (Adam Reach, min.83) and Kyle Bartley
Sheffield United: Michael Verrips, Sander Berge (Luke Freeman, min.72), Billy Sharp (Oliver Burke, min.57), George Baldock, John Fleck, David McGoldrick (Oliver McBurnie, min.57), Oliver Norwood, Ben Osborn, Jack Robinson, John Egan and Chris Basham
Stadium: The Hawthorns
Goals: Jack Robinson (1-0, min. 26), Dara O’Shea (2-0, min. 47), Alex Mowatt (3-0, min. 53) and Callum Robinson (4-0, min. 59)