Rotherham United on fire, scoring 3 without reply at the Aesseal New York Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Technical card:
Rotherham United: Viktor Johansson, Matthew Olosunde (Ryan Giles, min.69), Richard Wood, Matt Crooks, Michael Smith (Freddie Ladapo, min.84), Daniel Barlaser (Lewis Wing, min.68), Michael Ihiekwe, Wes Harding, Jamie Lindsay (Angus MacDonald, min.84), Clark Robertson and Ben Wiles (Shaun MacDonald, min.90)
Derby County: David Marshall, Kazim (Louie Sibley, min.87), Andre Wisdom, Lee Buchanan, Matt Clarke, Jason Knight, Nathan Byrne, Martyn Waghorn (Lee Gregory, min.72), Max Bird, Kamil Jozwiak (Patrick Roberts, min.72) and Graeme Shinnie (Beni Baningime, min.87)
Stadium: the Aesseal New York Stadium
Goals: Michael Ihiekwe (1-0, min. 76), Michael Smith (2-0, min. 81) and Ryan Giles (3-0, min. 88)

Rotherham on a 3-0 win against Derby County on Wednesday at the Aesseal New York Stadium. Rotherham United were hoping to get something from this game, following a previous defeat to Swansea City whilst Derby County were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Bristol City and Queens Park Rangers. After today’s result, Rotherham United are in 22nd place on the table and has 26 points while Derby County sit in 20th with 28 points after 20 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Rotherham United continued to pile on the pressure the second half and were rewarded, with a goal from Michael Ihiekwe, 76 minutes in. Later, Rotherham United scored again and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Michael Smith to make it 2-0. Later, Rotherham United took the lead with a goal form a goal from Ryan Giles in the 88th minute just before the final whistle, sealing a resounding 3-0 victory for the home side.

For Rotherham United Lewis Wing, Ryan Giles, Freddie Ladapo, Angus MacDonald and Shaun MacDonald came on for Daniel Barlaser, Matthew Olosunde, Michael Smith, Jamie Lindsay and Ben Wiles, and Derby County brought on Patrick Roberts, Lee Gregory, Beni Baningime and Louie Sibley for Kamil Jozwiak, Martyn Waghorn, Graeme Shinnie and Kazim.

There were bookings for Ben Wiles and Matt Crooks from Rotherham and Graeme Shinnie, Max Bird and Louie Sibley for Derby County.

Next up, Rotherham United are away to Preston North End, whilst Derby County will travel to face Barnsley.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*