Reading 3 – Peterborough United 1: The Royals celebrate victory at home

Photo Credit: AP

On Tuesday, Peterborough United suffer an away defeat to Reading at the Madejski Stadium. Reading were looking for a victory after a 3-3 draw against Queens Park Rangers. Peterborough United, on the other hand, lost 6-2 in the last match they played against Sheffield United. As things stand, Reading are in 15th place, with 7 points from 7 matches, while Peterborough United sit in 23rd, with 4 points from 7.

After a goalless first half, Reading applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from John Swift at the 64 minute mark. The momentum was now with The Royals, who then scored again through a goal from Tom Dele-Bashiru at the 67 minute mark to establish a 2-0. However, Peterborough United weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Nathan Thompson, 74 minutes in. In the end though, Reading just before the final whistle increased their advantage via another Tom Dele-Bashiru goal. The game ended with a 3-1 home victory.

Both managers used all substitutions. For Reading, Tom Holmes, Junior Hoilett and Dejan Tetek, came on for Liam Moor, Alen Halilovic and Ovie Ejaria, Peterborough United brought on Jack Taylor, Sammie Szmodics and Joe Tomlinson to replace Conor Coventry, Jack Marriott and Dan Butler.

The referee booked Frankie Kent for Peterborough United.

Reading will next travel to Fulham, while Peterborough United will face Birmingham City at home.

Technical card:
Reading: Tom Dele-Bashiru, George Puscas, Ovie Ejaria (Dejan Tetek, min.90), John Swift, Luke Southwood, Andy Yiadom, Michael Morrison, Liam Moor (Tom Holmes, min.45), Josh Laurent, Alen Halilovic (Junior Hoilett, min.65) and Rahman Baba
Peterborough United: Dan Butler (Joe Tomlinson, min.86), Ollie Norburn, Joe Ward, Jonson Clarke-Harris, Christy Pym, Nathan Thompson, Jack Marriott (Sammie Szmodics, min.82), Frankie Kent, Ronnie Edwards, Siriki Dembele and Conor Coventry (Jack Taylor, min.65)
Stadium: the Madejski Stadium
Goals: John Swift (1-0, min. 64), Tom Dele-Bashiru (2-0, min. 67), Nathan Thompson (2-1, min. 74) and Tom Dele-Bashiru (3-1, min. 88)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*