Reading earn a draw at the Madejski Stadium in the last round

Reading held at home to a 2-2 draw in the final match by Huddersfield
Edward Gibbon

Edward Gibbon

Gibbon is probably the most enthusiastic football fan among us. He lives and works in Europe, and mostly reports live from the games.

Reading and Huddersfield played a 2-2 game at the end of the Championship season. Following the final whistle at the end of the last game of the Championship season, Reading and Huddersfield sit 7th (70 points) and 20th (49 points) in the league respectively, after a total of 46 matches.

It was an impressive opening from The Terriers, with Josh Koroma giving Huddersfield the lead, 15 minutes in. Reading then went on to level the score at 1-1 at the 18 minute mark, thanks to a goal from Michael Olise. The Royals then scored once more and turned the match thanks to a goal from Yakou Meite in the 26th minute. The first half ended 2-1.

Huddersfield took the lead in the second half, thanks to Rarmani Edmonds-Green finding the net just before the final whistle. The final result, Reading 2, Huddersfield 2.

For Reading, Lucas Joao, Dejan Tetek and Liam Moore, came on for Yakou Meite, John Swift and Michael Olise. Huddersfield replaced Duane Holmes, Rolando Aarons, Danny Ward, Scott High and Naby Sarr for Sorba Thomas, Carel Eiting, Kieran Phillips, Juninho Bacuna and Rarmani Edmonds-Green.

There were bookings for Alfa Semedo from Reading. For Huddersfield, Alex Vallejo and Alex Vallejo saw yellow.

Technical card:
Reading: Tom Holmes, Alfa Semedo, Josh Laurent, John Swift (Dejan Tetek, min.67), Luke Southwood, Andy Yiadom, Andy Rinomhota, Omar Richards, Tomas Esteves, Michael Olise (Liam Moore, min.77) and Yakou Meite (Lucas Joao, min.67)
Huddersfield Town: Alex Vallejo, Naby Sarr (Rarmani Edmonds-Green, min.77), Jonathan Hogg, Ryan Schofield, Danny Ward (Kieran Phillips, min.70), Scott High (Juninho Bacuna, min.77), Josh Koroma, Rolando Aarons (Carel Eiting, min.60), Richard Keogh, Duane Holmes (Sorba Thomas, min.60) and Lewis O’Brien
Stadium: the Madejski Stadium
Goals: Josh Koroma (0-1, min. 15), Michael Olise (1-1, min. 18), Yakou Meite (2-1, min. 26) and Rarmani Edmonds-Green (2-2, min. 90)

More From 888post