Queens Park Rangers 1-3 Norwich City – Norwich City celebrate 3-1 victory against Queens Park Rangers

Photo Credit: AP

QPR were defeated at home by Norwich City at the Kiyan Prince Foundation Stadium on Saturday. QPR had been hopeful of continuing their run after winning their previous two matches against Swansea City away and Middlesbrough away, by 1-0 and 2-1 respectively. Norwich, on the other hand, were beaten 1-0 in the previous match against Watford. At the moment, QPR and Norwich currently occupy 9th and 1st spots in the table, with 62 points and 93 points respectively after 44 matches.

Norwich started the first half well, thanks to Xavier Quintilla giving The Canaries the lead, on 32 minutes, finishing the first half 0-1.

Norwich continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Max Aarons finding the net, 57 minutes in. However, QPR weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Lyndon Dykes in the 71st minute. Norwich in turn, then responded at the 82 minute mark increasing their lead with an effort from Emiliano Buendia, which sealed the victory for the visitors.

For QPR, Sam Field, Charlie Austin, Albert Adomah, Dominic Ball and Faysal Bettache, came on for Kieran Dowell, Todd Cantwell, Teemu Pukki, Emiliano Buendia and Xavier Quintilla. Norwich replaced Jakob Lungi Sorensen, Onel Hernandez, Jordan Hugill, Przemyslaw Placheta and Alexander Tettey with Kieran Dowell, Todd Cantwell, Teemu Pukki, Emiliano Buendia and Xavier Quintilla.

The referee booked Sam Field for QPR.

QPR will next travel to Stoke City, while Norwich will face Reading at home.

Technical card:
Queens Park Rangers: Todd Cantwell, Andrew Abiola Omobamidele, Teemu Pukki, Grant Hanley, Max Aarons, Tim Krul, Xavier Quintilla, Oliver Skipp, Kenny McLean, Emiliano Buendia and Kieran Dowell
Norwich City: Seny Dieng, Ilias Chair, Rob Dickie, Lyndon Dykes, George Thomas, Chris Willock, Stefan Johansen, Lee Wallace, Yoann Barbet, Jordy de Wijs and Osman Kakay
Stadium: the Kiyan Prince Foundation Stadium
Goals: Xavier Quintilla (0-1, min. 32), Max Aarons (0-2, min. 57), Lyndon Dykes (1-2, min. 71) and Emiliano Buendia (1-3, min. 82)