Huddersfield 4 – Reading 0: No reply from The Royals, as The Terriers net 4

Photo Credit: AP

Huddersfield Town beat Reading with a thumping 4-0 victory on Saturday at John Smith’s Stadium. Huddersfield were looking to continue their run after winning their previous two games in the league. The most recent was against the Sheffield United away (2-1), the other to Preston North End at home (1-0). Reading, on the other hand, were beaten 2-1 in the previous match against Coventry City. Following today’s result, Huddersfield and Reading are 3rd, (10 points) and 21st, (3 points), spots respectively, after 5 matches.

Huddersfield didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, with Lewis O’Brien opening the rout in the 39th minute. They then managed to see out the first half 1-0.

The Terriers started the second half with an intensified spirit, with a goal from Matty Pearson, 51 minutes in. Huddersfield looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a goal from Sorba Thomas in the 66th minute to establish a 3-0. Huddersfield then netted again and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Danny Ward, 68 minutes in to make it 4-0.

Both managers used the full entitlement. For Huddersfield, Ollie Turton, Fraizer Campbell and Duane Holmes, came on for Danel Sinani, Danny Ward and Josh Koroma, Reading brought on Alen Halilovic, Dejan Tetek and Jahmari Clarke, to replace Andy Rinomhota, John Swift and George Puscas.

There were bookings for Sorba Thomas, Matty Pearson and Tom Lees from Huddersfield, and Andy Yiadom and Tom Dele-Bashiru, for Reading.

Huddersfield will play their next fixture away against Stoke City, while Reading will face Queens Park Rangers at home.

Technical card:
Huddersfield Town: Lee Nicholls, Danel Sinani (Ollie Turton, min.62), Tom Lees, Harry Toffolo, Danny Ward (Fraizer Campbell, min.69), Levi Colwill, Sorba Thomas, Josh Koroma (Duane Holmes, min.78), Lewis O’Brien, Jonathan Hogg and Matty Pearson
Reading: Rafael, Tom Dele-Bashiru, George Puscas (Jahmari Clarke, min.79), Andy Yiadom, John Swift (Dejan Tetek, min.79), Junior Hoilett, Josh Laurent, Andy Rinomhota (Alen Halilovic, min.70), Michael Morrison, Liam Moor and Tom Holmes
Stadium: John Smith’s Stadium
Goals: Lewis O’Brien (1-0, min. 39), Matty Pearson (2-0, min. 51), Sorba Thomas (3-0, min. 66) and Danny Ward (4-0, min. 68)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*