Huddersfield 3 – Blackburn 2: The Terriers triumph at home against Rovers

Photo Credit: AP

Huddersfield Town eased past Blackburn Rovers in a 3-2 victory on Tuesday at John Smith’s Stadium. Huddersfield were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last game 1-0 to Swansea City whilst Blackburn had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 5-1 victory against Cardiff City. As the table looks today, both teams are on 16 points and sit in 7th and 6th places respectively after 10 matches.

Huddersfield started the first half well, with a goal from Alex Vallejo, 36 minutes in to see out the first half 1-0.

Blackburn took the initiative in the second half, thanks to Ben Brereton finding the net in the 57th minute. However, each side looked hungry to win and The Terriers then found the back of the net, 60 minutes in thanks to Danny Ward, taking the score to 2-1. However, their lead was short-lived, as an equalizer from Ben Brereton at the 65 minute mark, brought Rovers level. In the end though, Huddersfield, 84 minutes in took the victory via another Danny Ward goal and seeing the game end 3-2.

For Huddersfield, Scott High, Duane Holmes, Ollie Turton and Josh Ruffels, came on for Alex Vallejo, Josh Koroma, Sorba Thomas and Danel Sinani. Blackburn replaced Tyler Magloire, Ian Poveda, Reda Khadra and Leighton Clarkson with Ryan Nyambe, Joe Rothwell, Tyrhys Dolan and Sam Gallagher.

The referee booked Naby Sarr and Lee Nicholls for Huddersfield.

Blackburn and Huddersfield will next play away to Blackpool and Luton Town respectively.

Technical card:
Huddersfield Town: Lee Nicholls, Naby Sarr, Tom Lees, Harry Toffolo, Danel Sinani (Josh Ruffels, min.88), Danny Ward, Sorba Thomas (Ollie Turton, min.81), Josh Koroma (Duane Holmes, min.81), Lewis O’Brien, Alex Vallejo (Scott High, min.56) and Matty Pearson
Blackburn Rovers: Thomas Kaminski, John Buckley, Sam Gallagher (Leighton Clarkson, min.79), Ryan Nyambe (Tyler Magloire, min.21), Tyrhys Dolan (Reda Khadra, min.79), Ben Brereton, Joe Rothwell (Ian Poveda, min.75), Lewis Travis, Harry Pickering, Daniel Ayala and Hayden Carter
Stadium: John Smith’s Stadium
Goals: Alex Vallejo (1-0, min. 36), Ben Brereton (1-1, min. 57), Danny Ward (2-1, min. 60), Ben Brereton (2-2, min. 65) and Danny Ward (3-2, min. 84)