Huddersfield Town 1-2 Bournemouth: Visitors secure victory as The Cherries beat The Terriers 2-1

Photo Credit: AP

Bournemouth snatched all three points from Huddersfield Town in a 2-1 victory on Tuesday, at John Smith’s Stadium. Huddersfield arrived with the intention of increasing their league score following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Rotherham United in their previous game while Bournemouth were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Coventry City and Blackburn Rovers. After today’s result, Huddersfield are currently 19th with 44 points from 38 matches, while Bournemouth sit in 5th, with 71 points from 38.

Bournemouth started the game well, thanks to Philip Billing finding the net in the 15th minute. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Dominic Solanke just before half-time to secure a 0-2 win.

Huddersfield took the initiative in the second half, with a goal from Jonathan Hogg, 76 minutes in, leaving the final score at 2-1.

For Huddersfield, Rolando Aarons, Danny Ward, Sorba Thomas, Scott High and Jaden Brown, came on for Isaac Mbenza, Fraizer Campbell, Rarmani Edmonds-Green, Juninho Bacuna and Duane Holmes. Bournemouth brought on Jack Stacey, Junior Stanislas and Sam Surridge, to replace David Brooks, Arnaut Danjuma and Dominic Solanke.

The referee booked Ben Pearson and Sam Surridge for Bournemouth.

Bournemouth and Huddersfield will next play away to Norwich City and Nottingham Forest respectively.

Technical card:
Huddersfield Town: Asmir Begovic, Adam Smith, Steve Cook, Ben Pearson, Cameron Carter-Vickers, Philip Billing, Arnaut Danjuma, Dominic Solanke, Jefferson Lerma, David Brooks and Lloyd Kelly
Bournemouth: Jonathan Hogg, Naby Sarr, Juninho Bacuna, Ryan Schofield, Aaron Rowe, Rarmani Edmonds-Green, Fraizer Campbell, Isaac Mbenza, Richard Keogh, Duane Holmes and Lewis O’Brien
Stadium: John Smith’s Stadium
Goals: Philip Billing (0-1, min. 15), Dominic Solanke (0-2, min. 45) and Jonathan Hogg (1-2, min. 76)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*