Derby County earn a draw at Pride Park Stadium in the last round

Derby held at home to a 3-3 draw in the final match by SWFC
Edward Gibbon

Edward Gibbon

Gibbon is probably the most enthusiastic football fan among us. He lives and works in Europe, and mostly reports live from the games.

Derby and SWFC ended their participation in the competition with a draw 3-3. Following the final whistle at the end of the last game of the Championship season, Derby and SWFC are 21st (44 points) and 24th (41 points) in the league respectively, after a total of 46 matches.

SWFC started the game well, with Sam Hutchinson finding the net just before half-time and seeing the first half out 0-1.

Derby started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, thanks to an early goal from Martyn Waghorn in the 49th minute. The momentum was now with Derby, who then scored again through a goal from Patrick Roberts at the 52 minute mark to establish a 2-1. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Callum Paterson, 62 minutes in brought The Owls level. SWFC looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a goal from Julian Borner, 69 minutes in to establish a 3-2. In the end though, their lead was short lived, as Martyn Waghorn equalised for The Rams at the 78 minute mark and seeing the game end 3-3.

For Derby, Max Bird, Lee Buchanan, Kamil Jozwiak and Curtis Davies, came on for Jason Knight, Craig Forsyth, Graeme Shinnie and Martyn Waghorn. SWFC replaced Elias Kachunga, Kadeem Harris and Andre Green with Jordan Rhodes, Cheyenne Dunkley and Joey Pelupessy.

There were bookings for Kazim, Kamil Jozwiak and Festy Ebosele from Derby, and Barry Bannan, Cheyenne Dunkley and Kadeem Harris, for SWFC.

Technical card:
Derby County: Keiren Westwood, Barry Bannan, Cheyenne Dunkley, Josh Windass, Callum Paterson, Jordan Rhodes, Joey Pelupessy, Adam Reach, Liam Palmer, Julian Borner and Sam Hutchinson
Sheffield Wednesday: Kelle Roos, Kazim, Craig Forsyth, Patrick Roberts, Matt Clarke, Jason Knight, Nathan Byrne, Tom Lawrence, Martyn Waghorn, George Edmundson, Graeme Shinnie and Festy Ebosele
Stadium: Pride Park Stadium
Goals: Sam Hutchinson (0-1, min. 45), Martyn Waghorn (1-1, min. 49), Patrick Roberts (2-1, min. 52), Callum Paterson (2-2, min. 62), Julian Borner (2-3, min. 69) and Martyn Waghorn (3-3, min. 78)

More From 888post