Coventry 3 – Peterborough United 0- The Sky Blues secure all 3 points at Coventry Building Society Arena

Photo Credit: AP

Coventry City cruises against Peterborough United on a home win at Coventry Building Society Arena on Friday. Coventry arrived with the intention of increasing their league score after a 1-1 draw against Millwall. Peterborough United had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 3-0 victory against Birmingham City. As things stand, Coventry are in 1st place, with 19 points from 9 matches, while Peterborough United sit in 21st, with 7 points from 9.

After an un-eventful first half, The Sky Blues applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Gustavo Hamer finding the net in the 57th minute. The momentum was now with Coventry, who then scored again through a goal from Viktor Gyokeres at the 61 minute mark to establish a 2-0. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a second effort from Viktor Gyokeres, at 64 minutes to make it 3-0.

Both coaches used allfull available substitutions. For Coventry, Liam Kelly, Tyler Walker and Jodi Jones, came on for Gustavo Hamer, Viktor Gyokeres and Ian Maatsen, Peterborough United brought on Kwame Poku, Conor Coventry and Harrison Burrows, to replace Joe Ward, Jack Taylor and Jorge Grant.

The referee booked one player from Peterborough United, Dan Butler.

Coventry will next travel to Luton Town, while Peterborough United will face Bournemouth at home.

Technical card:
Coventry City: Simon Moore, Viktor Gyokeres (Tyler Walker, min.80), Gustavo Hamer (Liam Kelly, min.80), Jake Clarke-Salter, Ian Maatsen (Jodi Jones, min.86), Todd Kane, Dominic Hyam, Callum O`Hare, Martyn Waghorn, Jamie Allen and Kyle McFadzean
Peterborough United: David Cornell, Siriki Dembele, Joe Ward (Kwame Poku, min.46), Ronnie Edwards, Jorge Grant (Harrison Burrows, min.73), Ollie Norburn, Jonson Clarke-Harris, Jack Taylor (Conor Coventry, min.65), Frankie Kent, Nathan Thompson and Dan Butler
Stadium: Coventry Building Society Arena
Goals: Gustavo Hamer (1-0, min. 57), Viktor Gyokeres (2-0, min. 61) and Viktor Gyokeres (3-0, min. 64)