Barnsley earn a draw at Oakwell Ground in the last round

Barnsley held at home to a 2-2 draw in the final match by Norwich
Edward Gibbon

Edward Gibbon

Gibbon is probably the most enthusiastic football fan among us. He lives and works in Europe, and mostly reports live from the games.

Barnsley and Norwich played a 2-2 game at the end of the Championship season. Following the final whistle at the end of the last game of the Championship season, Barnsley and Norwich are 6th (77 points) and 1st (96 points) in the league respectively, after a total of 46 matches.

The Tykes dominated the first half, thanks to a goal from Cauley Woodrow in the 24th minute. However, they were unable to maintain their lead, Emiliano Buendia managed to equalize and take the sides off in the 26th minute at 1-1. Barnsley in turn, then responded just before half-time increasing their lead with an effort from Conor Chaplin, finalising the first half 2-1.

Norwich started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, with a goal from Adam Idah in the 54th minute, leaving the final score at 2-2.

For Barnsley, Dominik Frieser, Victor Adeboyejo, Daryl Dike, Jordan Williams and Liam Kitching, came on for Conor Chaplin, Carlton Morris, Cauley Woodrow, Jasper Moon and Toby Sibbick. Norwich brought on Adam Idah, Kieran Dowell, Onel Hernandez and Jakob Lungi Sorensen for Kenny McLean, Jordan Hugill, Todd Cantwell and Alexander Tettey.

There were bookings for Conor Chaplin, Romal Palmer and Toby Sibbick from Barnsley. For Norwich, Emiliano Buendia saw yellow.

Technical card:
Barnsley: Conor Chaplin (Dominik Frieser, min.55), Cauley Woodrow (Daryl Dike, min.55), Carlton Morris (Victor Adeboyejo, min.55), Romal Palmer, Toby Sibbick (Liam Kitching, min.82) and Jasper Moon (Jordan Williams, min.67)
Norwich City: Emiliano Buendia, Kenny McLean (Adam Idah, min.52), Jordan Hugill (Kieran Dowell, min.72), Todd Cantwell (Onel Hernandez, min.87) and Alexander Tettey (Jakob Lungi Sorensen, min.87)
Stadium: Oakwell Ground
Goals: Cauley Woodrow (1-0, min. 24), Emiliano Buendia (1-1, min. 26), Conor Chaplin (2-1, min. 43) and Adam Idah (2-2, min. 54)

More From 888post