Zenit 4 – Malmö 0: No reply from Malmö, as Zenit rampage to 4

Zenit St. Petersburg vs. Malmö

Photo Credit: AP

Zenit St. Petersburg cruises against Malmö on a home win at Saint Petersburg Stadium on Wednesday. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Zenit were hoping to get something from this game after losing 1-0 to Chelsea in their last match while Malmö were beaten 3-0 in the previous match against Juventus. As things stand, Zenit and Malmö currently occupy 1st and 4th spots in the league, with 3 points and 0 points respectively after 2 matches.

Zenit didn’t take long to start the rout, with Claudinho opening the rout in the 9th minute. The score at half time was 1-0.

Zenit started the second half with an intensified spirit, with an early goal from Daler Kuzyaev in the 49th minute. The momentum was now with Zenit, who then scored again through a goal from Aleksey Sutormin, 80 minutes in to establish a 3-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Wendel made it 4-0 just before the final whistle with a final score of 4-0.

For Zenit, Aleksandr Yerokhin, Sardar Azmoun, Kirill Kravtsov, Andrey Mostovoy and Daniil Krugovoy, came on for Claudinho, Daler Kuzyaev, Aleksey Sutormin, Artem Dzyuba and Douglas Santos. Malmö brought on Martin Olsson, Sergio Pena, Abdul Malik Abubakari, Noah Eile and Adi Nalic, to replace Erdal Rakip, Bonke Innocent, Antonio Colak, Franz Brorsson and Veljko Birmancevic.

Zenit will next play Juventus at home, with Malmö facing Chelsea away.

Technical card:
Zenit St. Petersburg: Stanislav Kritsyuk, Wilmar Barrios, Yaroslav Rakitskiy, Dmitri Chistyakov, Aleksey Sutormin (Kirill Kravtsov, min.83), Wendel, Daler Kuzyaev (Sardar Azmoun, min.75), Douglas Santos (Daniil Krugovoy, min.84), Artem Dzyuba (Andrey Mostovoy, min.84), Malcom and Claudinho (Aleksandr Yerokhin, min.75)
Malmö: Johan Dahlin, Eric Larsson, Lasse Nielsen, Anel Ahmedhodzic, Franz Brorsson (Noah Eile, min.87), Jo Inge Berget, Anders Christiansen, Bonke Innocent (Sergio Pena, min.62), Erdal Rakip (Martin Olsson, min.55), Antonio Colak (Abdul Malik Abubakari, min.62) and Veljko Birmancevic (Adi Nalic, min.88)
Stadium: Saint Petersburg Stadium
Goals: Claudinho (1-0, min. 9), Daler Kuzyaev (2-0, min. 49), Aleksey Sutormin (3-0, min. 80) and Wendel (4-0, min. 90)