Wolfsburg 1 – Seville 1: Its all even at the Volkswagen Arena, after Wolfsburg draw 1-1 with Seville

Wolfsburg 1-1 Seville

Photo Credit: AP

On Wednesday, Wolfsburg and Seville were held to a 1-1 draw at the Volkswagen Arena. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Wolfsburg arrived with the intention of increasing their league score after a scoreless draw against Lille in their previous match whilst Seville secured a point against FC Salzburg in their previous match. As it stands, both teams are on 2 points and occupy 3rd and 2nd places respectively after 2 matches.

After an un-eventful first half, Whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on The Wolves who started the second half well, with an early goal from Renato Steffen in the 48th minute. In the end though, their lead was short lived, as Ivan Rakitic equalised for Seville just before the final whistle. The game ended wih a 1-1 draw.

For Wolfsburg, Lukas Nmecha, Luca Waldschmidt and Yannick Gerhardt, came on for Kevin Mbabu, Renato Steffen and Wout Weghorst. Seville brought on Karim Rekik, Erik Lamela, Ivan Rakitic, Ivan Romero de Avila Araque and Munir El Haddadi, to replace Marcos Acuna, Suso, Rafa Mir, Joan Jordan and Lucas Ocampos.

The referee booked ten players. Maxence Lacroix, Renato Steffen, Kevin Mbabu, Josuha Guilavogui, Wout Weghorst and Jerome Roussillon from Wolfsburg, who saw yellow cards and Josuha Guilavogui (2 yellow cards), sent off with a red, as well as for Seville Suso, Rafa Mir and Karim Rekik also seeing yellows.

Seville and Wolfsburg will next play away to Lille and FC Salzburg respectively.

Technical card:
Wolfsburg: Koen Casteels, Kevin Mbabu (Lukas Nmecha, min.62), Maxence Lacroix, Sebastiaan Bornauw, Jerome Roussillon, Ridle Baku, Dodi Lukebakio, Josuha Guilavogui, Maximilian Arnold, Renato Steffen (Luca Waldschmidt, min.74) and Wout Weghorst (Yannick Gerhardt, min.90)
Seville: Bono, Jesus Navas, Jules Kounde, Diego Carlos, Marcos Acuna (Karim Rekik, min.46), Joan Jordan (Ivan Romero de Avila Araque, min.70), Papu Gomez, Fernando, Suso (Erik Lamela, min.52), Rafa Mir (Ivan Rakitic, min.53) and Lucas Ocampos (Munir El Haddadi, min.74)
Stadium: the Volkswagen Arena
Goals: Renato Steffen (1-0, min. 48) and Ivan Rakitic (1-1, min. 87)