Wolfsburg 1 – Gladbach 3: The Wolves lose at home to The Colts

Photo Credit: AP

B Mönchengladbach defeat Wolfsburg 3-1 on Saturday at the Volkswagen Arena. Wolfsburg were hoping to get something from this game, following a previous defeat to Hoffenheim. Gladbach were able to continue their winning streak after a 1-0 win against Borussia Dortmund in their last match. After today’s result, Wolfsburg and Gladbach currently occupy 5th and 8th spots in the table, with 13 points and 10 points respectively after 7 matches.

Gladbach started the game well, with an early goal from Breel Embolo in the 5th minute. The Colts looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a goal from Jonas Hofmann in the 7th minute to establish a 2-0. However, The Wolves in the 24th minute hit back though thanks to a Luca Waldschmidt goal, which saw the first half end 1-2.

Gladbach continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Joe Scally just before the final whistle. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 3-1 to Gladbach.

For Wolfsburg, Jerome Roussillon, John Brooks, Lukas Nmecha, Maximilian Philipp and Daniel Ginczek, came on for Yannick Gerhardt, Sebastiaan Bornauw, Dodi Lukebakio, Ridle Baku and Josuha Guilavogui. Gladbach brought on Patrick Herrmann, Christoph Kramer and Alassane Plea, to replace Luca Netz, Kouadio Kone and Lars Stindl.

The referee booked Sebastiaan Bornauw, Ridle Baku, Kevin Mbabu, Maxence Lacroix, Wout Weghorst and Jerome Roussillon from Wolfsburg and Maxence Lacroix (2 yellow cards) went off with a red card, while Gladbach’s Lars Stindl, Denis Zakaria and Louis Beyer also received a yellow.

Wolfsburg will next travel to Union Berlin, while Gladbach will face Stuttgart at home.

Technical card:
Wolfsburg: Koen Casteels, Kevin Mbabu, Sebastiaan Bornauw (John Brooks, min.46), Maxence Lacroix, Yannick Gerhardt (Jerome Roussillon, min.46), Dodi Lukebakio (Lukas Nmecha, min.66), Luca Waldschmidt, Josuha Guilavogui (Daniel Ginczek, min.79), Maximilian Arnold, Ridle Baku (Maximilian Philipp, min.79) and Wout Weghorst
B Mönchengladbach: Yann Sommer, Louis Beyer, Nico Elvedi, Matthias Ginter, Joe Scally, Jonas Hofmann, Denis Zakaria, Kouadio Kone (Christoph Kramer, min.60), Luca Netz (Patrick Herrmann, min.58), Lars Stindl (Alassane Plea, min.82) and Breel Embolo
Stadium: the Volkswagen Arena
Goals: Breel Embolo (0-1, min. 5), Jonas Hofmann (0-2, min. 7), Luca Waldschmidt (1-2, min. 24) and Joe Scally (1-3, min. 90)