Wolfsburg ease past Mainz 05 with a 2-0 victory away

Photo Credit: AP

Technical card:
Mainz 05: Koen Casteels, Ridle Baku, John Brooks, Maxence Lacroix, Paulo Otavio, Josip Brekalo, Maximilian Arnold, Maximilian Philipp, Xaver Schlager, Renato Steffen and Wout Weghorst
Wolfsburg: Robin Zentner, Moussa Niakhate, Stefan Bell, Alexander Hack, Levin Oztunali, Leandro Martins, Danny Latza, Jean-Paul Boetius, Philipp Mwene, Karim Onisiwo and Jonathan Michael Burkardt
Stadium: the Opel Arena
Goals: Bartosz Bialek (0-1, min. 65) and Wout Weghorst (0-2, min. 79)

Mainz 05 on home loss to Wolfsburg at the Opel Arena on Tuesday. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Mainz 05 arrived with the intention of increasing their league score following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Borussia Dortmund in their previous game while Wolfsburg had managed to pick up a single point in their encounter with RB Leipzig. As things stand, Mainz 05 and Wolfsburg currently occupy 17th and 5th spots in the league, with 7 points and 29 points respectively after 17 matches.

After a goalless first half, Wolfsburg continued to pile on the pressure the second half and were rewarded, following Bartosz Bialek opening the scoring in the 65th minute. Later, Wolfsburg scored again and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Wout Weghorst in the 79th minute to hand victory to the visitors.

For Mainz, Dominik Kohr, Niklas Tauer, Adam Szalai and Robin Quaison came on for Josip Brekalo, Maximilian Philipp, Ridle Baku, Wout Weghorst and Maximilian Arnold, while Wolfsburg replaced Bartosz Bialek, Yannick Gerhardt, Kevin Mbabu, Admir Mehmedi and Josuha Guilavogui with Josip Brekalo, Maximilian Philipp, Ridle Baku, Wout Weghorst and Maximilian Arnold.

There were bookings for Jean-Paul Boetius from Mainz and Maximilian Philipp and Josuha Guilavogui for Wolfsburg.

Mainz 05 will play their next fixture at home against RB Leipzig, while Wolfsburg will face Bayer Leverkusen away.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*