Visitors leave with nothing, as Borussia Dortmund secure 3-1 home win against FC Augsburg

Technical card:
Borussia Dortmund: Marwin Hitz, Mateu Morey (Lukasz Piszczek, min.78), Manuel Akanji, Mats Hummels, Raphael Guerreiro (Nico Schulz, min.84), Jadon Sancho, Thomas Delaney, Marco Reus (Mahmoud Dahoud, min.83), Julian Brandt (Jude Bellingham, min.75), Giovanni Reyna and Erling Haaland
FC Augsburg: Rafal Gikiewicz, Felix Ohis Uduokhai, Reece Oxford, Jeffrey Gouweleeuw, Daniel Caligiuri, Carlos Gruezo (Tim Civeja, min.75), Tobias Strobl, Iago (Mads Pedersen, min.77), Marco Richter (Fredrik Jensen, min.65), Florian Niederlechner (Michael Gregoritsch, min.65) and Andre Hahn (Ruben Vargas, min.65)
Stadium: the Signal Iduna Park
Goals: Andre Hahn (0-1, min. 10), Thomas Delaney (1-1, min. 26), Jadon Sancho (2-1, min. 63) and Felix Ohis Uduokhai (3-1, min. 75)

Dortmund’s 3-1 win over Augsburg on Saturday, was hard fought at the Signal Iduna Park. Borussia Dortmund were looking to get back winning ways after losing 4-2 to Borussia Mönchengladbach in their last fixture while FC Augsburg were looking to extend their winning run after a 2-1 victory against Union Berlin. As it stands, Borussia Dortmund are in 5th place, with 32 points from 19 matches, while FC Augsburg sit in 13th, with 22 points from 19.

It was an impressive opening from FC Augsburg, following Andre Hahn opening the scoring, 10 minutes in. However, their lead didn’t last for long, as an equalizer from a Thomas Delaney in the 26th minute brought Borussia Dortmund level, to take a 1-1 lead into half time.

Borussia Dortmund continued to apply pressure the second half and were rewarded, thanks to Jadon Sancho opening the scoring in minute 63. Later, Borussia Dortmund took the lead with a goal form a goal from Felix Ohis Uduokhai in the 75th minute, which sealed the victory for Borussia Dortmund.

For Borussia Dortmund Jude Bellingham, Lukasz Piszczek, Mahmoud Dahoud and Nico Schulz came on for Julian Brandt, Mateu Morey, Marco Reus and Raphael Guerreiro, while Augsburg brought on Michael Gregoritsch, Ruben Vargas, Fredrik Jensen, Tim Civeja and Mads Pedersen to replace Florian Niederlechner, Andre Hahn, Marco Richter, Carlos Gruezo and Iago.

The referee booked one player from FC Augsburg, Iago.

Borussia Dortmund will next travel to SC Freiburg, while FC Augsburg will face Wolfsburg at home.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*