Union Berlin 1 – Arminia 0: The Iron Ones take all 3 points at the An der Alten Försterei Stadium

Union Berlin 1-0 Arminia Bielefeld - Match Report & Highlights

Photo Credit: AP

Union Berlin snatched all three points from Arminia Bielefeld in a narrow 1-0 victory on Saturday, at the An der Alten Försterei Stadium. Union Berlin arrived at the game looking pick up points after losing their last game 4-2 to Borussia Dortmund. Arminia are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. After today’s result, Union Berlin are in 7th place on the table and has 9 points while Arminia sit in 15th with 4 points after 6 matches.

After a goalless first half, Union Berlin piled on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Kevin Behrens just before the final whistle. When the final wisthle blew, the result was 1-0 to Union Berlin.

For Union Berlin, Paul Jaeckel, Kevin Behrens, Sheraldo Becker, Julian Ryerson and Genki Haraguchi, came on for Timo Baumgartl, Taiwo Awoniyi, Andreas Voglsammer, Christopher Trimmel and Grischa Promel. Arminia brought on Patrick Wimmer, Fabian Kunze, Florian Kruger, Andres Andrade and Nathan De Medina, to replace Bryan Lasme, Masaya Okugawa, Robin Hack, Jacob Laursen and Cedric Brunner.

The referee booked Sheraldo Becker for Union Berlin.

Union Berlin will next travel to Mainz, while Arminia will face Bayer Leverkusen at home.

Technical card:
Union Berlin: Andreas Luthe, Marvin Friedrich, Timo Baumgartl (Paul Jaeckel, min.36), Robin Knoche, Christopher Trimmel (Julian Ryerson, min.81), Rani Khedira, Grischa Promel (Genki Haraguchi, min.81), Andreas Voglsammer (Sheraldo Becker, min.66), Niko Giesselmann, Taiwo Awoniyi (Kevin Behrens, min.66) and Max Kruse
Arminia Bielefeld: Stefan Ortega, Cedric Brunner (Nathan De Medina, min.81), Amos Pieper, Joakim Nilsson, Jacob Laursen (Andres Andrade, min.78), Masaya Okugawa (Fabian Kunze, min.78), Alessandro Schopf, Manuel Prietl, Robin Hack (Florian Kruger, min.78), Fabian Klos and Bryan Lasme (Patrick Wimmer, min.62)
Stadium: the An der Alten Försterei Stadium
Goals: Kevin Behrens (1-0, min. 88)