Union Berlin suffer at the hands of FC Augsburg as home team is triumphant

Technical card:
FC Augsburg: Andreas Luthe, Nico Schlotterbeck, Marvin Friedrich, Robin Knoche, Christopher Trimmel, Grischa Promel, Robert Andrich, Marcus Ingvartsen, Christopher Lenz, Sheraldo Becker and Taiwo Awoniyi
Union Berlin: Rafal Gikiewicz, Jeffrey Gouweleeuw, Reece Oxford, Felix Ohis Uduokhai, Daniel Caligiuri, Carlos Gruezo, Tobias Strobl, Iago, Marco Richter, Andre Hahn and Florian Niederlechner
Stadium: Wwk Arena
Goals: Florian Niederlechner (1-0, min. 17), Marcus Ingvartsen (1-1, min. 25) and Florian Niederlechner (2-1, min. 47)

On Saturday, Union Berlin suffer an away defeat to Augsburg at Wwk Arena. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. FC Augsburg were hoping to get something from this game, following a previous defeat to Bayern München. Union Berlin, on the other hand, were beaten 1-0 in the previous match against RB Leipzig. As the table looks today, FC Augsburg and Union Berlin sit 11th, (22 points) and 8th, (28 points), in the table respectively, after 18 matches.

FC Augsburg dominated the first half, beginning with Florian Niederlechner opening the scoring, 17 minutes in. However, their lead didn’t last for long, as an equalizer from a goal from Marcus Ingvartsen in the 25th minute brought Union Berlin level. However, FC Augsburg just before half-time reestablished their lead following another Florian Niederlechner goal, which saw the first half end 2-1. Both teams unable to deliver anything further, the score remained at 2-1 at full time.

For Augsburg, Fredrik Jensen, Alfred Finnbogason, Robert Gumny and Rani Khedira came on for Sheraldo Becker, Marcus Ingvartsen, Grischa Promel, Christopher Lenz and Nico Schlotterbeck, while Union Berlin brought on Marius Bulter, Akaki Gogia, Christian Gentner, Cedric Teuchert and Niko Giesselmann to replace Sheraldo Becker, Marcus Ingvartsen, Grischa Promel, Christopher Lenz and Nico Schlotterbeck.

There were bookings for Tobias Strobl, Reece Oxford and Florian Niederlechner from Augsburg and Christopher Trimmel for Union Berlin.

FC Augsburg will next travel to Borussia Dortmund, while Union Berlin will face Borussia Mönchengladbach at home.