Stuttgart 2 – Freiburg 3- Visitors at the Mercedes Benz Arena secure victory

Photo Credit: AP

SC Freiburg’s 3-2 win over Stuttgart on Saturday, was hard fought at the Mercedes Benz Arena. Stuttgart were looking forward to meeting again after losing their last game 4-0 to RB Leipzig. Freiburg, on the other hand, were coming from a 2-1 win against Borussia Dortmund. As the table looks today, Stuttgart and Freiburg currently occupy 12th and 2nd spots in the table, with 3 points and 7 points respectively after 3 matches.

Freiburg started the first half well, with an early goal from Woo-yeong Jeong in the 3rd minute. Breisgau Brazilians looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a 2nd effort from Woo-yeong Jeong at the 9 minute mark to establish a 2-0. Freiburg looked to have the game under control when they scored again and incerased their lead, thanks to a goal from Lucas Holer in the 28th minute to establish a 3-0. However, Stuttgart weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Konstantinos Mavropanos, 45 minutes in. The Reds then scored again and hit back though thanks to a goal from Hamadi Al Ghaddioui just before half-time. The score at half time was 2-3. The second half ended with little further action at either end and goalless.

For Stuttgart, Hiroki Ito, Daniel Didavi and Enzo Millot, came on for Konstantinos Mavropanos, Philipp Forster and Philipp Klement. Freiburg replaced Manuel Gulde, Maximilian Eggestein, Janik Haberer, Kevin Schade and Ermedin Demirovic with Yannik Keitel, Nicolas Hofler, Vincenzo Grifo, Roland Sallai and Woo-yeong Jeong.

There were bookings for Philipp Forster and Mateo Klimowicz from Stuttgart, and Kevin Schade, for Freiburg.

Stuttgart will next travel to Eintracht Frankfurt, while Freiburg will face FC Köln at home.

Technical card:
Stuttgart: Mark Flekken, Lukas Kubler, Philipp Lienhart, Nico Schlotterbeck, Christian Gunter, Roland Sallai, Yannik Keitel, Nicolas Hofler, Vincenzo Grifo, Woo-yeong Jeong and Lucas Holer
SC Freiburg: Florian Muller, Marc Kempf, Waldemar Anton, Konstantinos Mavropanos, Roberto Massimo, Wataru Endo, Philipp Klement, Borna Sosa, Mateo Klimowicz, Hamadi Al Ghaddioui and Philipp Forster
Stadium: the Mercedes Benz Arena
Goals: Woo-yeong Jeong (0-1, min. 3), Woo-yeong Jeong (0-2, min. 9), Lucas Holer (0-3, min. 28), Konstantinos Mavropanos (1-3, min. 45) and Hamadi Al Ghaddioui (2-3, min. 45)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*