RB Leipzig – Wolfsburg: Points shared, as Leipzig play out a 2-2 draw at Red Bull Arena

Its a point each for Leipzig and Wolfsburg, as they finish 2-2
Christoph Spitz

Christoph Spitz

Christoph is straigh-up honest about how easy he has it. While the supporters of other teams wait for years or decades for the Bundesliga trophy, he cheers for Bayern.

Leipzig were held to 2-2 draw by Wolfsburg down on Sunday at Red Bull Arena. Leipzig were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last game 3-2 to Borussia Dortmund. Wolfsburg were coming from a 3-0 win against Union Berlin. Following today’s result, Leipzig are in 2nd place on the table and has 65 points while Wolfsburg sit in 4th with 61 points after 33 matches.

Wolfsburg started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with a goal from Maximilian Philipp, 12 minutes in. However they weren’t finished yet and Maximilian Philipp made it 2-0 just before half-time, ending the first half 0-2.

Leipzig started the second half with an intensified spirit, thanks to a goal from Justin Kluivert, 51 minutes in. The Red Bulls then scored once more and found an equaliser thanks to a goal from Marcel Sabitzer, 78 minutes in with a final score of 2-2.

For Leipzig, Angelino, Amadou Haidara, Dayot Upamecano, Hee-chan Hwang and Kevin Kampl, came on for Benjamin Henrichs, Konrad Laimer, Ibrahima Konate, Justin Kluivert and Emil Forsberg. Wolfsburg brought on Josuha Guilavogui and Jerome Roussillon, to replace Maximilian Philipp and Ridle Baku.

There were bookings for Benjamin Henrichs, Ibrahima Konate and Marcel Sabitzer from Leipzig. For Wolfsburg, Kevin Mbabu, Maximilian Arnold and Ridle Baku saw yellow.

Leipzig will next play Union Berlin away, with Wolfsburg facing Mainz at home.

Technical card:
RB Leipzig: Peter Gulacsi, Benjamin Henrichs (Angelino, min.46), Willi Orban, Ibrahima Konate (Dayot Upamecano, min.63), Lukas Klostermann, Emil Forsberg (Kevin Kampl, min.87), Marcel Sabitzer, Konrad Laimer (Amadou Haidara, min.46), Justin Kluivert (Hee-chan Hwang, min.70), Christopher Nkunku and Yussuf Poulsen
Wolfsburg: Koen Casteels, Kevin Mbabu, Maxence Lacroix, John Brooks, Paulo Otavio, Ridle Baku (Jerome Roussillon, min.90), Maximilian Philipp (Josuha Guilavogui, min.80), Maximilian Arnold, Xaver Schlager, Yannick Gerhardt and Wout Weghorst
Stadium: Red Bull Arena
Goals: Maximilian Philipp (0-1, min. 12), Maximilian Philipp (0-2, min. 45), Justin Kluivert (1-2, min. 51) and Marcel Sabitzer (2-2, min. 78)

More From 888post