Leipzig 1 – Bayern 4- Home loss for The Red Bulls at hands of The Reds

Photo Credit: AP

Bayern Munich delivered a resounding 4-1 victory against Leipzig on Saturday, at Red Bull Arena. Leipzig arrived at the game looking pick up points, following a previous defeat to Wolfsburg. Bayern were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against BSC and FC Köln. As the table looks today, Leipzig and Bayern are 13th, (3 points) and 2nd, (10 points), in the league respectively, after 4 matches.

The Reds didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, with Robert Lewandowski opening the rout at the 12 minute mark. Bayern then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Jamal Musiala just before half-time, finalising the first half 0-2.

The Reds fought back, with a goal from Leroy Sane at the 54 minute mark. However, Leipzig weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Konrad Laimer at the 58 minute mark. In the end though, Bayern secured the points emphatically, with a goal from Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting just before the final whistle, which sealed the victory for the visitors.

For Leipzig, Josko Gvardiol, Emil Forsberg, Amadou Haidara, Yussuf Poulsen and Lukas Klostermann, came on for Angelino, Dani Olmo, Konrad Laimer, Andre Silva and Willi Orban. Bayern brought on Jamal Musiala, Marcel Sabitzer, Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, Niklas Sule and Josip Stanisic, to replace Serge Gnabry, Leon Goretzka, Robert Lewandowski, Benjamin Pavard and Thomas Muller.

Leipzig will next play FC Köln away, with Bayern facing Bochum at home.

Technical card:
RB Leipzig: Peter Gulacsi, Nordi Mukiele, Mohamed Simakan, Willi Orban (Lukas Klostermann, min.80), Angelino (Josko Gvardiol, min.59), Dominik Szoboszlai, Konrad Laimer (Amadou Haidara, min.59), Kevin Kampl, Dani Olmo (Emil Forsberg, min.59), Christopher Nkunku and Andre Silva (Yussuf Poulsen, min.71)
Bayern Munich: Manuel Neuer, Benjamin Pavard (Niklas Sule, min.75), Dayot Upamecano, Lucas Hernandez, Alphonso Davies, Serge Gnabry (Jamal Musiala, min.45), Joshua Kimmich, Thomas Muller (Josip Stanisic, min.75), Leon Goretzka (Marcel Sabitzer, min.59), Leroy Sane and Robert Lewandowski (Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, min.59)
Stadium: Red Bull Arena
Goals: Robert Lewandowski (0-1, min. 12), Jamal Musiala (0-2, min. 47), Leroy Sane (0-3, min. 54), Konrad Laimer (1-3, min. 58) and Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (1-4, min. 90)