Leipzig 1 – Bayer 3- The Red Bulls left stunned by The Company’s Eleven at home

Photo Credit: AP

Bayer Leverkusen beat RB Leipzig with a thumping 3-1 victory on Sunday at Red Bull Arena. Leipzig arrived at the game looking pick up points after losing their last game 2-0 to Hoffenheim. Bayer were looking to extend their winning run after a 1-0 victory against Bochum. As things stand, Leipzig and Bayer sit 8th, (18 points) and 3rd, (24 points), in the league respectively, after 13 matches.

The first half of the game started well for The Company’s Eleven, with Florian Wirtz finding the net at the 21 minute mark. Bayer then netted once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Moussa Diaby in the 34th minute, which saw the first half end 0-2.

The Red Bulls took the lead in the second half, with a goal from Andre Silva in the 62nd minute. In the end though, Bayer, 64 minutes in increased their lead thanks to a Jeremie Frimpong goal so at full time it was 3-1 to Bayer.

For Leipzig, Dominik Szoboszlai, Benjamin Henrichs, Tyler Adams, Solomon Bonnah and Amadou Haidara, came on for Brian Brobbey, Konrad Laimer, Kevin Kampl, Lukas Klostermann and Emil Forsberg. Bayer brought on Odilon Kossounou, Charles Aranguiz, Kerem Demirbay, Nadiem Amiri and Lucas Alario, to replace Patrik Schick, Amine Adli, Robert Andrich, Florian Wirtz and Moussa Diaby.

There were bookings for Emil Forsberg from Leipzig. For Bayer, Robert Andrich, Lukas Hradecky and Jeremie Frimpong saw yellow.

Leipzig will next play Union Berlin away, with Bayer facing Greuther Fürth at home.

Technical card:
RB Leipzig: Josep Martínez, Nordi Mukiele, Lukas Klostermann (Solomon Bonnah, min.84), Josko Gvardiol, Angelino, Christopher Nkunku, Konrad Laimer (Benjamin Henrichs, min.73), Kevin Kampl (Tyler Adams, min.73), Emil Forsberg (Amadou Haidara, min.85), Andre Silva and Brian Brobbey (Dominik Szoboszlai, min.43)
Bayer Leverkusen: Lukas Hradecky, Jeremie Frimpong, Jonathan Tah, Edmond Tapsoba, Piero Hincapie, Moussa Diaby (Lucas Alario, min.88), Exequiel Palacios, Florian Wirtz (Nadiem Amiri, min.88), Robert Andrich (Kerem Demirbay, min.80), Amine Adli (Charles Aranguiz, min.63) and Patrik Schick (Odilon Kossounou, min.63)
Stadium: Red Bull Arena
Goals: Florian Wirtz (0-1, min. 21), Moussa Diaby (0-2, min. 34), Andre Silva (1-2, min. 62) and Jeremie Frimpong (1-3, min. 64)

*All photo credit on the site belongs to ap*