Mainz 1 – Union Berlin 2- The Iron Ones leave the OPEL Arena with 3 points

Photo Credit: AP

Union Berlin beat Mainz with a thumping 2-1 victory on Sunday at the OPEL Arena. Mainz were looking forward to meeting again, following a previous defeat to Bayer Leverkusen. Union Berlin were coming off the back of a 1-0 win against Arminia Bielefeld. As the table looks today, Mainz are in 9th place, with 10 points from 7 matches, while Union Berlin sit in 7th, with 12 points from 7.

The 05ers started the game well, with Marcus Ingvartsen giving Mainz the lead in the 39th minute, seeing out the first half 1-0.

The Iron Ones continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Taiwo Awoniyi, 69 minutes in. However they weren’t finished yet and Taiwo Awoniyi made it 2-1 at the 73 minute mark with a final score of 2-1.

For Mainz, David Nemeth, Jean-Paul Boetius, Anton Stach, Moussa Niakhate and Kevin Stoger, came on for Juste, Marcus Ingvartsen, Jonathan Michael Burkardt, Daniel Brosinski and Leandro Martins. Union Berlin brought on Kevin Behrens, Kevin Mohwald and Andreas Voglsammer, to replace Genki Haraguchi, Max Kruse and Taiwo Awoniyi.

The referee booked six players. Dominik Kohr from Mainz, who saw yellow cards and Dominik Kohr (2 yellow cards), sent off with a red, as well as for Union Berlin Genki Haraguchi, Robin Knoche, Grischa Promel and Max Kruse received yellows.

Mainz will next play Borussia Dortmund away, with Union Berlin facing Wolfsburg at home.

Technical card:
Mainz: Robin Zentner, Juste (David Nemeth, min.20), Stefan Bell, Silvan Widmer, Daniel Brosinski (Moussa Niakhate, min.76), Leandro Martins (Kevin Stoger, min.77), Dominik Kohr, Marcus Ingvartsen (Jean-Paul Boetius, min.67), Anderson Lucoqui, Karim Onisiwo and Jonathan Michael Burkardt (Anton Stach, min.67)
Union Berlin: Andreas Luthe, Paul Jaeckel, Robin Knoche, Marvin Friedrich, Julian Ryerson, Grischa Promel, Rani Khedira, Niko Giesselmann, Max Kruse (Kevin Mohwald, min.82), Genki Haraguchi (Kevin Behrens, min.62) and Taiwo Awoniyi (Andreas Voglsammer, min.82)
Stadium: the OPEL Arena
Goals: Marcus Ingvartsen (1-0, min. 39), Taiwo Awoniyi (1-1, min. 69) and Taiwo Awoniyi (1-2, min. 73)