Mainz 0 – Freiburg 0- The 05ers crowd must settle for goal-less draw

Photo Credit: AP

Saturday’s fixture between Mainz and Freiburg delivered a goalless draw at the OPEL Arena. Mainz were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two matches in the league. The most recent was against the Hoffenheim away (2-0), the other to Greuther Fürth at home (3-0) while Freiburg are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. As it stands, Mainz and Freiburg sit 3rd, (10 points) and 5th, (9 points), in the league respectively, after 5 matches.

For Mainz, Karim Onisiwo, Marcus Ingvartsen, Anton Stach and Kevin Stoger, came on for Adam Szalai, Jonathan Michael Burkardt, Leandro Martins and Jean-Paul Boetius. Freiburg replaced Nils Petersen, Maximilian Eggestein, Woo-yeong Jeong, Vincenzo Grifo and Keven Schlotterbeck with Lucas Holer, Janik Haberer, Roland Sallai, Kevin Schade and Lukas Kubler.

There were bookings for Alexander Hack and Robin Zentner from Mainz, and Nico Schlotterbeck, for Freiburg.

Mainz will next travel to Bayer Leverkusen, while Freiburg will face Augsburg at home.

Technical card:
Mainz: Robin Zentner, Stefan Bell, Alexander Hack, Juste, Silvan Widmer, Dominik Kohr, Leandro Martins (Anton Stach, min.78), Jean-Paul Boetius (Kevin Stoger, min.88), Anderson Lucoqui, Adam Szalai (Karim Onisiwo, min.46) and Jonathan Michael Burkardt (Marcus Ingvartsen, min.59)
SC Freiburg: Mark Flekken, Nico Schlotterbeck, Philipp Lienhart, Manuel Gulde, Lukas Kubler (Keven Schlotterbeck, min.90), Yannik Keitel, Janik Haberer (Maximilian Eggestein, min.66), Christian Gunter, Lucas Holer (Nils Petersen, min.66), Roland Sallai (Woo-yeong Jeong, min.81) and Kevin Schade (Vincenzo Grifo, min.81)
Stadium: the OPEL Arena
Goals: 0-0