Hoffenheim 0 – Mainz 2: The 05ers, fearless, go to the Pre Zero Arena and win

Photo Credit: AP

Mainz eased past Hoffenheim in a 2-0 victory on Saturday at the Pre Zero Arena. Hoffenheim were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last game 3-2 to Borussia Dortmund. Mainz were coming off the back of a 3-0 win against Greuther Fürth. As the table looks today, Hoffenheim and Mainz are 9th, (4 points) and 3rd, (9 points), in the league respectively, after 4 matches.

Mainz started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with a goal from Jonathan Michael Burkardt, at 21 minutes to see out the first half 0-1.

The 05ers continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to Marcus Ingvartsen finding the net, at 77 minutes. The final result, Hoffenheim 0, Mainz 2.

For Hoffenheim, Christoph Baumgartner, Pavel Kaderabek, Florian Grillitsch, Munas Dabbur and Robert Skov, came on for Mijat Gacinovic, Stefan Posch, Sebastian Rudy, Dennis Geiger and Jacob Bruun Larsen. Mainz brought on Alexander Hack, Adam Szalai, Lee Jae Sung, Marcus Ingvartsen and Anton Stach, to replace Moussa Niakhate, Karim Onisiwo, Leandro Martins, Jonathan Michael Burkardt and Jean-Paul Boetius.

There were bookings for Mijat Gacinovic and Kevin Vogt from Hoffenheim, and Alexander Hack, for Mainz.

Hoffenheim will next play Arminia Bielefeld away, with Mainz facing SC Freiburg at home.

Technical card:
Hoffenheim: Oliver Baumann, Chris Richards, Kevin Vogt, Stefan Posch (Pavel Kaderabek, min.46), David Raum, Jacob Bruun Larsen (Robert Skov, min.73), Dennis Geiger (Munas Dabbur, min.73), Mijat Gacinovic (Christoph Baumgartner, min.46), Sebastian Rudy (Florian Grillitsch, min.58), Georginio Rutter and Andrej Kramaric
Mainz: Robin Zentner, Stefan Bell, Juste, Moussa Niakhate (Alexander Hack, min.33), Silvan Widmer, Leandro Martins (Lee Jae Sung, min.75), Dominik Kohr, Jean-Paul Boetius (Anton Stach, min.76), Anderson Lucoqui, Jonathan Michael Burkardt (Marcus Ingvartsen, min.75) and Karim Onisiwo (Adam Szalai, min.60)
Stadium: the Pre Zero Arena
Goals: Jonathan Michael Burkardt (0-1, min. 21) and Marcus Ingvartsen (0-2, min. 77)
*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*